Some Days Are Magical - Twenty-Two Tour - CycleBlaze

June 7, 2022

Some Days Are Magical

When Jeff takes you across the bridge,
you get up a 4 in the morning - which isn't bad.
Tea, toast, a fried egg and a few whispered words.
Twice now. It is good.

Jeff in His Work Truck
Heart 2 Comment 0

Cascades Locks was pretty darn shut down at 5 a.m.
Sitting at the bike pavillion, watching the sun come up.
Then coffee and a sweet roll at 6, when the coffee shop opens.
And catching up on the journal, of course.

Sunrise at Cascade Locks
Heart 6 Comment 0

Got a lovely photo of the Bridge of the Gods.
I don't care to ride acoss it because it has an open grate.
And it's high above the river.  And I get the heebie-jeebies.
But lots of cyclists do.

Government Cove on a Gorgeous Morning
Heart 5 Comment 0

There was a stiff east wind a-blowin'. Cold, too.
I had been wanting to spend some time at Goverment Cove.
It's an out-of-the-way rocky peninsula that juts out into the river.
But the wind made it nearly impossible to do anything but shiver.

Killer Uphill
Heart 6 Comment 0

Next up was Wyeth Road - straight up, then straight down.
I'm guessing the grade topped 15% - this boy walked it.
The Historic Coumbia Highway Trail was nice, but hilly.
Up, down. Up, down. And if was often right next to the interstate.

Finally got to Viento State Park where Michon and Dave were waiting.
I hadn't see Michon in 25 years and it was just so wonderful.
Dave though we were nuts as we chattered away and loaded the stuff.
Yes, I know it is terribly immoral to accept a ride on a bike tour,
but the trail isn't finished and it forces you to ride on I-84. So there.

Dave observed - quite correctly - that my tires were bald and cracked.
When it comes to bike maintenance, I travel on a wing and a prayer.
I tried to convince Michon that it wasn't that beig a deal - - 
But she would have none of it - insisting that I take care of it, hah!

Michon alloed me to make my famous yam and black-eyed pea soup.
Got in on the stove by noon so the flavors could mix.

Mount Hood to the South
Heart 6 Comment 0

We did a little sighseeing before heading into town for lunch.
I was the total tourist - oohing and ahhing - for good reason.
Mount Hood rose to the south of town - a white giant.
And when I turned around, there was Mount Adams.
Truly spectacular.

Mount Adams to the North
Heart 4 Comment 0

After lunch, Michon helps me go around every bike shop in town - - 
Hood River being loaded with bike shop filled with gnarly MTB tires.
But it was quite the effort finding touring 700s.
They wanted to sell me $75 bike tires - - 75 bucks each for bike tires?!?!
But I found some for $25 bucks each.

Michon's brother Chris came over to make dinner.
Chris also worked at Snow King- and as an international flight attendant. For 30 years, now. 30 years? That's totally crazy, I refuse to believe it.
Anyhoo, we had the yam and black-eyed pea soup as an appetizer - 
As Chris was banging around Michon's little kitchen.

Michon's brother Paul built the garage apartment Michon lives in when he moved here 25 years ago. Then he built the "Big House". Which is stunning beyond belief. The guy is a true artist who found a perfect spot for his dream house.

Then Paul and Kate showed up.
They said they wouldn't make it for dinner, but dinner was late.
So, everybody chowed down on Chris' delish baked chicken and rice.
The conversation was loud and rowdy - everybody talking at once.
Which is always a sign of a good time.

Michon and Me
Heart 6 Comment 0

Way, way, way too late for ths old boy.
Had to tell everyone that I was turning into a pumpkin.
Michon made sure, of course again, that I was comfortablr on the sofa.
Truly a perfect day.

Today's ride: 12 miles (19 km)
Total: 209 miles (336 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Keith Adams"I know it is terribly immoral to accept a ride on a bike tour"

Unless, of course, it makes more sense to do that than keep riding. It enabled you to have a good day with longtime friends, and that's way more than nothin'.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rebecca RousseauYou look way happy!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago