Historic Columbia River Highway - Twenty-Two Tour - CycleBlaze

June 8, 2022

Historic Columbia River Highway

I really hated to go so soon.
But I know I have to get back on the road.
I have many miles to cover and I'm not as young as I used to be.

Michon and I whiled away the morning hours sharing stories.
Just Michon and me - which was really nice.
Yesterday was great, but I was a little jealous of having to share.
Today was like 25 years had never elapsed.

At the Trailhead Saying Goodbye
Heart 6 Comment 0

Michon's brother Paul had mentioned breakfast out - 
but he got up just as we were packing up the car.
It was a little rowdy - at least by my puritanical terms - last night.
(Then again, I was hardly a little angel in years gone by.)
So we drove to the trailhead and took a last picture with a hug.

Not a More Beautiful Trail Anywhere
Heart 7 Comment 1

This section of the Historic Columbia River Highway earns its marks.
From Hood River to Mosier most of the highway is bike trail only.
Stunning views, quiet, wildflowers, forests, and tunnels, too.
The grade wasn't too bad -
for the switchbacks up and the last mile down.
(Of course, Michon drove me up the switchbacks - but don't tell.)

The Tunnel on the Trail
Sung to the Tune of "The Farmer in the Dell"
Heart 6 Comment 0

From Mosier, you have to climb again, this time with a bit of traffic.
This section is steeper without the eye-popping vistas -
Until you get to Rowena Crest - with trails leading out to the cliffs.
But then you brake away all that climbing zooming down.
Beautiful, but really tough for a newer touring cyclist.

Classic White Guardrails
Heart 4 Comment 0
Historic Route 30
Heart 4 Comment 0
View from the Rowena Overlook
Heart 5 Comment 0
And the Rowena Loops Heading Down
Heart 6 Comment 0



After I flew down and wasted all that climbing energy,
I met a French couple cycling westbound.
They had been in Mexico and were wandering the West.
We talk politics in French and in English.
We were all Melenchon supporters - so in compete agreement.
And right, of course.

Juanny, Madeleine, and Ben
Heart 6 Comment 0



Getting into The Dalles, I hit the Safeway -
and wanted to buy everything in the store.
That happens when you are a hungry cyclist.
Still I bought too much and pigged out in the little park next to city hall.

Great Mural in The Dalles
Heart 4 Comment 0
Fine Dining Behind City Hall in a Pocket Park
Heart 2 Comment 0

Next challenge - which way should I go?
The back road has steep climbs and gravel - and I am climbed out.
The Dalles Bridge is under reconstruction.
The old highway is under I-84 for 7 miles.
I picked J-84, but there was one bridge without a shoulder.
Whew! Level, smooth miles flew by - with a tailwind.
The cars and trucks always get the best.

Back on the Old Highway Again
Heart 6 Comment 0

Got back on the old higway -
Had a nice, lazy rest at Deschutes River State Park.
Then to Biggs Junction - which has big truck stops.
And, I confess, a stop at McDonalds.

I admitted that I was bushed.
Crossed the river to Maryhill State Park to so-so camping.
High weeds (not high weed) at the tent site
and bird poop all over the picnic table.

But I met Lisa and Rick from Connecticut
who are on their first big big tour.
Which turned out to be my good fortune.





Today's ride: 50 miles (80 km)
Total: 259 miles (417 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 0