Garbage Trains - Twenty-Two Tour - CycleBlaze

June 9, 2022

Garbage Trains

Didn't get out of the way of the sprinklers quite in time.
I guess I should have put my tent up in the weeds - 
Since that is where I had to retreat to.

Tracks Heading East to Roosevelt
Heart 4 Comment 0

Packed up fast, rode over to the other side of the park to eat,
then headed up Stonehenge Road - and I mean up.
Actually - at 10% grade - walking was the means of transport.
The Stonehenge replica is a monument to those who died in WWI.

The Maryhill Stonehenge, a Monument to Soldiers Who Died in WWI
Heart 2 Comment 0


The language on the dedication plaque is dated for many,
but the plaques for each of the local young remain moving.
The views are immense - I was the only one there in the early morning.

The Views Are Stunning and Sobering
Heart 7 Comment 2
Sheila NaismithVery moving. Thank you for sharing. ❤️
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonBeautiful. I think this is the best photo from Stonehenge I’ve ever seen.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Then it was time for some delicious morning riding on empty roads.
You know, I am such a big advocate of riding early, eh?
Hardly a car, rolling terrain, semi-arid landscape, but wet this year.
You could smell the slightly-nutty aroma of the fresh grass.

Massive Wind Power, But No Tailwind for Juanny
(Reminds me of the journal "Uphill Against the Wind")
Heart 7 Comment 0
Early Morning Barn and Cliffs
Heart 5 Comment 0

Got to Roosevelt by 9:30 - almost 40 miles - not bad.
Had a great breakfast burrito at the little cafe & store.
I think I had a burger here back in 1987.
But the store had been closed for a long time.
And all of Roosevelt, too.

Republic Landfill Truck, Many of the Drivers Are Recent Immigrants from Mexico
Heart 3 Comment 0

What changed was garbage. Actually, garbage trains.
Every day, garbage from Seattle and other Northwest cities arrives.
Hundreds of containers on flatbed railcars - around the clock.
The containers are stacked in the railyard.
Then they are loaded onto trucks for the 1000-foot climb up the bluffs.
The Roosevelt grade leads up to the Republic landfill - 
a state-of-the-art facility in the garbage business.

Stacked Containers at the Railyard Waiting to be Loaded on Trucks
Heart 1 Comment 1
Sheila NaismithDidn’t realize the garbage train transport was even a thing.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
A Loaded Truck Ready to Go Up the Grade
Heart 1 Comment 0



I spoke to a couple of drivers at the cafe over breakfast.
In an 8-hour day, you can make about 8 runs.
Loading, 20 mph up the grade, weigh-in, unloading, and back.
Republic has 200+ well-paid workers in what had been a jobless area.
Seattle pays a tax on every ton of garbage - 1/3 of the local county budget.
And yet, there is a question that stands out -
Is this a metaphor for the relationship between urban and rural?

The 1000-Foot Grade Up to the Landfill
Heart 2 Comment 0


(If you go back to the Columbia Highway page
you can see a long trash train below. Lucky shot, I guess.
Actually, trash trains run on both sides of the river.
Seattle sends its trash to Roosevelt. Portland sends its to Arlington.)

The Roosevelt Grain Silo - the Old Economy
Heart 3 Comment 0

Lisa and Rick caught up to me in Roosevelt
because I was having  such a good time.
After they had a bite to eat, we decided to ride together for a while.
Easy riding. Warm afternoon. The promised tailwinds didn't arrive.
But, all in all, carefree riding - with trains on the tracks below.

Back on the Empty Road and Along the Columbia
Heart 4 Comment 0

We got to Crow Butte State Park at 2:30p.
I had a moral decision to make. I had never stopped so early.
But I was a bit tired, and there was shade, and soft drinks.
Once I got a Coke and took the snacks out, it was all over.
The camp host let us camp for free.
Lisa, Rick, and I traded stories over bananas and cookies.
It turned out to be the best choice.

Rick and Lisa at Crow Butte S.P.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Today's ride: 57 miles (92 km)
Total: 316 miles (509 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Stuart RosnerJohn,
Your writing and photos are fantastic! It's been fun following along with you. If Cape Henlopen is your ultimate destination, then you'll probably be passing by pretty close to my town of Frederick, Maryland near the end of your voyage. We would love to host you when you get here. Enjoy your ride!

Stu
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
John EganTo Stuart RosnerStu -

I can think of nobody better to stay with way over there in Easternland.
Of course, I will have to print some more $30 bills in my basement - with Nixon and the double Vs on the front.
Still not sure if I can swing the entire summer. Time, money, youth - - all terribly misspent.

Will keep you posted - - Juan
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Stuart RosnerHi Stuart

I'm 30 miles from you, in Rockville. Practically next door, considering the global composition of the membership here.

If you're ever interested in a get together for a chin wag or some cycling miles please feel free to get in touch.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Stuart RosnerTo Keith AdamsHey Keith, thanks for the note. Good to see Montgomery County represented on this site. One of your journals has interesting journal entries on lots of terrain that I too have covered on daily rides. One of my old standby rides is to Poolesville and back. I'd be happy to show you some riding around Frederick County or Washington County some time.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago