Crossing the Yellowstone River - Twenty-Two Tour - CycleBlaze

June 18, 2022

Crossing the Yellowstone River

Yikes! So very far behind in posting.
(More as to the reason later)

Woke up super early in the "cottage".
Didn't get any chance to get to know Ryan and Jenni.
They were totally occupied with the big birthday party.
But I am still so grateful.

The Hotel Baxter Downtown - Way Over My Budget
Heart 2 Comment 0

Bagel at the bagel cafe - then texted a friend from Zoom meetings.
I was clearly up well before he was - it is Sat. morning, after all.
Went over to his house and we had a wonderful morning - 
Discussing past indescretions and American mass consumption.
(Then again, neither applies to me.)

Outdoor Book Sale at the Bozeman Library
Heart 3 Comment 0

Like so many touring cyclists, the library is the place to be.
And Bozeman has a beautiful library on a blue-sky day.
Just the place to update the journal.

On Old Highway 10 Heading Up Bozeman Pass
Heart 6 Comment 0

Finally, I'm on the road again.
Full disclosure - I'm heading east to Billings instead of Havre.
Runnin' out of steam - - more like psychic energy.

Backroad Bliss
Heart 6 Comment 0

The first few miles were on Old Highway 10 - quiet & peaceful.
But then you have to get on I-90 with tons of traffic - 
because the built the interstate over the old road.
RideWithGPS put me on a dirt road that was private/no trespassing.
I have told them - often - that Google Maps is not always your friend.

A Storybook Farm
Heart 7 Comment 0

Fortunately, I didn't get arrested - it would have been the very first time.
Topping out, the views ofs the Absarokas were worth the climb.
It was a big-ring zoom all the way down to Livingston.
Why is it that the big downhills go so quickly?

Flying Downhill with a View of the Absarokas
Heart 7 Comment 0

Livingston is lovely. I could easily live here.
A little eclectic, a big river, shimmering mountains, Bozeman nearby.
I biked around town, had a late lunch, stopped by the library. Again.
Didn't head out until six - only to discover a pesky headwind.
Most of the riding was on the old road, but I was glad to be done.

Downtown Livingston
Heart 7 Comment 0
The Yellowstone River Just Outside Livingstone
Heart 6 Comment 0

Pulled into the closed riverside camping area
just as the sun dropped below the horizon.
The Yellowstone was huge and churning.
I was the only person there - 
with the crashing river keeping me company al night.

Campsite on the Yellowstone
Heart 7 Comment 0

Today's ride: 50 miles (80 km)
Total: 992 miles (1,596 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0