Boise Detour - Twenty-Two Tour - CycleBlaze

June 16, 2022

Boise Detour

Got up super early - before the sun had cracked the horizon.
And I had placed the tent so it would get the first rays of sunlight.
Packed up in no time and was on the road in the early light.
Best time to ride - no doubt about it.

Montour Campsite at Sunrise
Heart 5 Comment 0
Early Morning Hillsides
Heart 4 Comment 0


The Payette River isn't whitewater here, just flowing swiftly.
You could hear the rush of the water whenever the river was nearby.
Stopped at one of the worst cafes ever in Horseshoe Bend -
And waited for my former Jackson roommate, Stan, to show up.

Payette River and Swallows
Heart 5 Comment 0
Old Barn in the Payette Valley
Heart 6 Comment 0

Boise isn't a super big city, although it may be one of the fastest growing.
But it sure isn't one that is easy to cycle into and our of.
The worst part is that connecting east, you have to ride 40 miles on I-84.
And I am so done wih I-84.

So I have agreed to meet stan in Horsehoe Bend.
And, yes, we're going to load the bike up again.
I understand fully well my many moral shortcomings.
But I have no desire to get mushed like a bug.

It was great to see Stan again. We have lots of stories.
Back during a time when we were a lot younger and did things.
Things you can talk about years later and laugh at yourself.

Stan & Me
Heart 6 Comment 0


Over the years Stan has spoiled many kitties - 
Including my Booger-Kitty in Jackson.
He has two right now - both of whom just wandered in.
Jack is solid black, missing half his tail, and a sweetie-pie.
Moochie is a long-haired tabby, 22 years old, and doing great.

Mr. Moochie is 22 Years Old!
Heart 2 Comment 0

We went for a walk in the Riverwalk Park, picked up some groceries,

(Big city grocery stores are amazing after cycling in the boonies.)
Then I made a veggie stir-fry and basmati rice for dinner.
Stan, his housemate, Joseph, and I then watched PBS - 
All the news about January 6th - with full commentary from us.

Joseph's Wildflower Front Yard
Heart 6 Comment 0


They might have wanted to stay up later, but I was bushed.
I apologized and conked out in two minutes after a long and great day.

Today's ride: 15 miles (24 km)
Total: 553 miles (890 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rachel and Patrick HugensWe live in Boise, and have just been talking with Keith Adams and he referenced you. Boise has a fabulous Greenbelt to cycle into and out of the city. https://www.cityofboise.org/departments/parks-and-recreation/parks/boise-greenbelt/
We welcome you and any cyclist coming through Boise to stay with us. We are Racpat on Warmshowers.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago