Sep 22- Wien to Toronto to Cochrane: After breakfast a walk, a train ride, a flight, a drive and ... home again - Meandering the Donau/Duna (Tour 12) - 2011 πŸ‡­πŸ‡Ί πŸ‡ΈπŸ‡° πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ή - CycleBlaze

September 22, 2011

Sep 22- Wien to Toronto to Cochrane: After breakfast a walk, a train ride, a flight, a drive and ... home again

In Europe, some things are so easy to do. Tues Sep 22. 2011.

Vienna - Toronto - Cochrane.

I awoke at 4:57 am so jumped out of bed so I wouldn't fall back asleep. Though it was still dark out, for some time I had heard the trains going by outside our window. The rhythmic thumping initially made me think it was someone banging to get in downstairs.

Tom and Kevin were soon up, so by 6 am we were downstairs for breakfast. And, it was like I remembered 19 yrs ago. Buns. Liver spread. Cold cuts. Sliced cheese. Coffee. Juice. I didnt think I was hungry, but I soon gobbled up a bunwich and a half.

Finished our meal, walked with our bags over to Pratersterne U/S bahn station. We had bought our tickets yesterday, so we simply had to go up the escalator to track 3 and wait for the 6:42am train to the airport. Typical Austrian efficiency, train came and off we were whisked. Amazingly, as we waited, at least a dozen trains came and went on the same few tracks.

Arrived airport on schedule at 7:12am and lugged our gear up, up and around to the Austrian Airlines check-in. Away went the bags and until flight time we surfed and sent emails using the airport wi-fi.

Typical for me, I got a little edgy when we had not yet been called up even tho people were boarding. Kevin went to the counter to ask about our tickets and there they were for 39EDG which was the last row in the middle. At least I had an aisle seat so I wouldn't be too claustrophobic!

In departure we were about 15 min late but blasted out and away over the Alps and westward. Who knows when I shall next return to Europe, but hopefully before too long. Maybe to cycle with a new Brompton folding bike from Budapest to Belgrade. Or Belgrade to Black Sea. Or to New Deer, Scotland with my wee little boy, Alex.

Interestingly, as we were disembarking one of the stewards came over and asked if he knew me. I recognized him as a staff member in business class on our flight over on the 11th.

We were pretty much on schedule into Toronto so we picked up our bags, then loaded into Kevin's car. They drove me over to where I had parked the car, I hopped in then headed north and home.

Another bike tour over and done. Kind of hard to believe, really, that it was done already. I suppose my mind would be comparing it to 100 days across Europe, but still, trips are over WAY too soon.

International Airports are amazing and I am always enthralled....
Heart 0 Comment 0
... by the boards with all of the arrivals and departures from around the world.
Heart 0 Comment 0
As well as the indications of other far-off (to us) lands!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0