Sep 14 - Bratislava to Gyor, Hungary: Just past my physical capability - Meandering the Donau/Duna (Tour 12) - 2011 πŸ‡­πŸ‡Ί πŸ‡ΈπŸ‡° πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ή - CycleBlaze

September 14, 2011

Sep 14 - Bratislava to Gyor, Hungary: Just past my physical capability

Revesz Hotel, 67 Euro including breakfast

THE buffet breakfast was amazing. We ate lots then headed to the lobby where the bellboy got our bikes down from upstairs in some storage room of some sort. We popped our panniers onto the bikes and for me it was very easy - my Arkel EXR-38 panniers are very sturdy, steady and easy to mount with their new mounting system.

Leaving the city was easy - out across the bridge then along the Levee though we could rarely see the Danube. About an hour in we stopped for a juice, then in Hungary we stopped at a grocery store for home-made bunwiches, juice and water. It was getting hot (about 30 C) so it was a nice break. It was particularly nice since we had come over about 5 km of soft sand and river rocks. Though it was still the designated cycle route, the quality had deteriorated into an almost un-rideable section and was very tough going!

All along the way at various points were wild hops climbing fences, posts and along the ground like a weed. No wonder they make beer around here.

The scenery was alright but not exceptional. At the 70 km point I was physically burnt out. I stood, I sat, I stood, I sat. At least since I was always at the back I could speed up and slow down as much as I wanted. And I did!

We finally got to Gyor where we stopped at one of the first guest houses we came to. Tom and Kevin went in to book a room while I guarded the bikes and gear, then we put the bikes into the lock-up out back. We had made it and could get off of the bikes!

In the room we showered and did laundry and checked our e-mails like the nerds we are. As we sat here it got really windy and we saw that in Vienna it was 18 C and the forecast for here now included rain!

We decided, based on TripAdvisor.com, that the food here is very good so we ate supper in what turned out to be a very chic restaurant, with superb service and excellent food and wine. I had the fish; Tom had the pork; Kevin had the boar. We ordered two bottles of Hungarian wine (K2 it was called) and an appetizer that included a hot pepper and garlic paste for bread that was hot but excellent. We were there for two hours and by the time we were done it was raining and cool outside. So... we decided to go back to the room. Tomorrow we only have 50 to 60 km so we'll spend the morning here in town then head to Komoron. I have e-mailed the hotel in Komoron to ask for a room but have no answer yet. I'm so glad I bought the tablet computer - from now on I'll be able to research and book while on the actual trip.

I messaged MA earlier and it seems there is snow in their forecast tonight. Crap! My poor gardens!

It was interesting today - many of the towns have a lot of new buildings. I'm not sure if this is since the fall of the wall or their entry into the EU. It looks in some cases that towns are 50% larger than previously.

Heading out of Bratislava, Slovakia
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here is the rental bike for the week - heavy, but was fine. Next time, though, I think I'll get a folding bike. Either a Bike Friday or a Brompton.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Riding from Slovakia into Hungary.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I hope the people who shot this sign don't get angry at us for any reason. These signs indicated our route as we pedaled along. Very nice, indeed.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A gate by a church in a small Hungarian village.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This part of the route was very tricky. It was soft mushy gravel that had our tires slipping from side to side. It lasted for several km.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Quite often along the cycling path there were hops growing wild on the ground, up lamp posts or on buildings. I'm not sure which, though. Tettnanger? Saaz? Hallertau? Something else?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Our nice hotel at the edge of Gyor.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A little Hungarian wine with our Hungarian meal in our Hungarian hotel.
Heart 0 Comment 0
And the stowaway looking at our hot pepper paste.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A gratis appetizer from the hotel. Delicious!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 85 km (53 miles)
Total: 166 km (103 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0