Sep 10 - Cochrane to Oakville by Acura: We live so far from the international airport - Meandering the Donau/Duna (Tour 12) - 2011 πŸ‡­πŸ‡Ί πŸ‡ΈπŸ‡° πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ή - CycleBlaze

September 10, 2011

Sep 10 - Cochrane to Oakville by Acura: We live so far from the international airport

Hotel Rummo

HAVING only packed yesterday, I did a quick gander over my bags, throwing in my thumb drive with a few photos of the kids, some podcasts and a few books including 'The Help' in case I pick up a tablet computer. I already have my Kobo loaded with that book but I would only take one device with me.

What a change from our recent trips to Cuba. Whereas we usually had the van packed with two boxed bikes, bags and more, this time I had my two panniers and the MEC duffle bag that I'd put them in for the flight to Vienna. I popped these things into the wee little Acura 1.6 EL and away I went.

Something new to me on a bike trip was my little mascot. Dubbed Little Bear, he belongs to my 5-yr-old boy and belonged to his 10 yr old sister when she was tiny. I swore I would take a number of photos of Little Bear along the way to kind of bring the trip to the kids.

I was feeling a little lonely, so I zipped over to GCR to see my Mom. We chatted a bit, then after a hug and good-byes, I was away and heading south.

Well, missing the family before I even left... I'm such a baby!?

Again, the ride to the four-mile-corner took forever, but I soon settled in to the drive with CBC and a few podcasts. I must say I was soon filled up with 9/11 stuff so avoided the radio.

In North Bay I stopped at Staples to check out the tablet computers but nothing really caught my attention.

The top of Toronto was REALLY busy because of construction on Highway 401 west which was down one lane, so I 'smartly' went through the city to get across. Ya right - that brilliant decision took forever to complete because everyone else in the province was doing exactly the same thing.

I went straight to Tiger Direct by Sherway Mall where I decided on a mid-range tablet at $259++ then I continued onward to Oakville. Shelley's kids were wound right up after a day at Canada's Wonderland and thankfully were soon off to bed. We watched a bit of tv but I was asleep by 10 pm. It had been a long day of driving for me!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0