May 8, 2022 - Estoril to Lisboa - Return to Cycle-OPOLIS (Tour 22) - 2022 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

May 8, 2022

May 8, 2022 - Estoril to Lisboa

When in Lisboa do as the Roma-ns

Heart 0 Comment 0

Hotel - Hotel Roma, Av. de Roma 33, Lisboa

Heart 0 Comment 0

Where this guesthouse was kind of cute five years ago, this time or at least this room was yucky. Paint touch ups, marks on walls, not clean, and when I looked for my way out this morning and saw the former pretty little breakfast room, it looked like a sleeping bag sitting in the middle of the floor. I think some of the cleaning ladies actually live here. That's fine, but it seems more of a boarding house now than a cute little guest house. Thus, I ate my few bits of food, carried my stuff downstairs, loaded it onto the bike and got out of there.

I am told this is the most dangerous road in Europe, so like to ride the sidewalk and bike path to the city centre. -- Tagus Estuary, Portugal
Heart 0 Comment 0

Where my guesthouse was not great, the morning was great. Warm enough that I didn't wear my jacket at all. I rolled down to be as close as possible to the water and headed toward the city centre.

All was quiet but within no time at all there were people around and they were pouring down to the string of beaches that were all along the estuary. They went from almost empy to really busy. A few people were in the water, but for the most part, they were laying on the beach, playing volleyball, football, or making sand castles. Some were out in the water snorkeling and some were sailing.

Looking back you can see Cascais harbour where I had ridden yesterday. -- Tagus Estuary, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
A few spots even seem a bit 'remote' before getting to the really busy sections. -- Tagus Estuary, Portugal
Heart 0 Comment 0
A few spots even seem a bit 'remote' before getting to the really busy sections. -- Tagus Estuary, Portugal
Heart 0 Comment 0

At one poing I made a wrong turn and ended up on the wrong side of the tracks. Literally. It was then I noticed cones set up on a street and security and police everywhere. I asked them what was going on and was told about a half-marathon being run. I did see the odd runner once I got back onto the waterside path and then as I passed under the 25th Anniversary suspension bridge, I noticed what must have been thousands of people running along the road on the bridge and then once I went a bit further they had flowed down to the road near me and there were thousands and thousands of runners going past.

The Tower of Belem used to guard the city of Lisbon from invaders. -- Belem, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0

I stopped to take a few photos around the famous monuments and where they were over-run with tourists the last couple of times, it was amazing to see very small groups. There were enough people but not the throngs like before. They will return.

The Tower of Belem used to guard the city of Lisbon from invaders. -- Belem, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
Wikepedia: "Padrão dos Descobrimentos (Portuguese pronunciation: [pɐˈdɾɐ̃w̃ duʃ dɨʃkubɾiˈmẽtuʃ]; lit. Monument of the Discoveries) is a monument on the northern bank of the Tagus River estuary, in the civil parish of Santa Maria de Belém, Lisbon. Located along the river where ships departed to explore and trade with India and the Orient, the monument celebrates the Portuguese Age of Discovery (or "Age of Exploration") during the 15th and 16th centuries."
Heart 1 Comment 0
Right behind the Monument to the Discoveries is a world map showing how much Portugal explored. -- Belem, Portugal
Heart 0 Comment 0

Getting closer to the city the walking path was very busy as was the cycling path. Lots of people head out for a Sunday morning walk or bike ride. Lots and lots. I had to take my time and be careful since there were lots of cyclists I had to pass, some who wanted to pass me, and the people who wandered onto the bike path and then stood and gawked around, forcing cyclists to have to jam on the brakes until they moved.

And then I could see the buildings of Commercio Square. Loads of people around, I could no longer safely cycle, which is fine. I walked up the pedestrianized streets to Rossio, where I took a photo from 'my spot' of the bus shelter (think December 2003). From Rossio, I walked the last little bit up and around the corner to the bottom of Avenida da Liberdade, the beautiful-tree-boulevarded street and cycled all the way up to Pombal Square before having to wind left, right and all over the place through back streets to arrive at the Hotel Roma.

I was hoping to be able to check in early, but was told very formally (I read this comment online, too) that I woud have to wait til 3 pm. Period. Large hotel in a large city, I suppose. Wanting to relax, I crossed the street to an outdoor patio that had burgers - though I did not initially know they were vegan. I thought a moment or two and decided why not, and ordered one. 

The Praça do Comércio and the statue of King José I. My ride along the estuary was done and now it was time to turn north. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
Wikepedia: "The Rossio is the popular name of the King Pedro IV Square in the city of Lisbon, in Portugal. It is located in the Pombaline Downtown of Lisbon and has been one of its main squares since the Middle Ages." -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
My final pedal stroke ended here at Hotel Roma where our family stayed forty years ago. Here I will be packing up my bike tonight then using the hotel as base to explore until I leave in two days. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
I was really hungry so went across to a patio where I ordered a vegan burger (it is a vegan burger place). I had a celebratory 'Super Bock' and rested in the shade until I could check in to the Hotel Roma. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 0 Comment 0

I plunked down on a chair in the shade and let out a big exhale. After my burger, I 'celebrated' by ordering a Super Bock beer and relaxed in the shade while I typed away. I am in the shade, but it is hot out here - it is about 29 C.

Being as formal and sticky with rules, it will be interesting to see what happens when I try to bring the bike to my room. I am not even going to mention it and will just go for it. I'll see how this goes. It is absolutely clean, and I do need it to dismantle and place in its box when Filipe brings one later this evening.

Today's ride: 48 km (30 miles)
Total: 604 km (375 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0