March 23, 2022 - Looks Promising - Return to Cycle-OPOLIS (Tour 22) - 2022 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

March 23, 2022

March 23, 2022 - Looks Promising

Well, well, well. Our world just keeps changing, doesn't it?! This might have one wonder about the wisdom of travel what with health issues changing, political situations changing and weather so very unpredictable. So the question arises - do I stay home in case things take a turn for the [very] bad? Or, alternatively, do I head out with that newly-coined YOLO philosophy?

To be truly honest, for me it depends on the oddest thing. During the day, I am gung-ho to go; once night falls I get fearful and feel that typical-for-me sense of dread. Of course, this time, if things were to really worsen, I could be 'stuck' in Europe indefinitely.

Where do I stand now? Well, the sun is up, so I am going. In terms of pandemic restrictions, currently for a return to Canada, as long as I am fully vaxxed (which I am) I will not need a PCR test to return. In terms of my personal health, I am seemingly safe-ish due to my vaxxed status. In case I need medical care due to covid there is insurance from Manulife that will cover some expenses if I were to incur expenses due to the illness. The one restriction that still makes me a wee bit nervous is that Portugal still requires a PCR test for Canadians even if vaxxed. I will have to keep away from people in the days leading up to departure. And while there ... when off the bike and indoors I will continue to wear my mask - either covid or a simple cold or flu could make cycling unpleasant. I haven't had a cold in more than two years!

In preparation for the tour, I will have to get back onto the trainer-mounted bike. I have been so busy lately that I have not been pedaling for months. This is not good. I have never enjoyed starting a tour unprepared and feel a huge difference when I am in great shape. My part of the world still has mounds and mounds of snow and temperatures hovering below zero most days so cycling to get into shape is not practical other than indoors. Indoors it shall be.

What next? I guess I will start gathering the things together from my packing list. I haven't used the full list and gone through the full bike-boxing procedure since 2019's trip from PRG to VIE. I have had a bike box set aside for a few years but it is out at the hangar and the hangar is ... yup ... snowed in with those same mounds of snow. I'll have to get it so I can experiment with the roller gadget that my son Alexander 3-D printed for me. Rather than dragging or carrying the bike box around once I get to Porto, I will attach the roller to one end of the box, then hold the opposite end and roll it like a really big suitcase. This will be interesting.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0