April 20, 2022 - Flights from Timmins to Toronto toward Europe - Return to Cycle-OPOLIS (Tour 22) - 2022 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

April 20, 2022

April 20, 2022 - Flights from Timmins to Toronto toward Europe

YTS - YYZ -

I heard my tablet pinging in the night to find that both Air Canada and TAP Air Portugal were letting me know I could get my boarding pass. How could I get back to sleep after that? I headed down to load and print them and that is just how the day went. Kind of on edge until Mom and Dad came to pick me up to drive me to the airport in Timmins. It was so sunny and nice out that I almost contemplated staying home instead. But did not.

Getting the bike through the security was easy enough though they did have me pull all of the extra bags out of the box to run through the scanning machine. The way I had loaded things it was a breeze. Then I turned to the Air Canada counter to explain Portugal's entry requirements to them. I was organized so they quickly saw that everything was in order.

Now sitting here in yts relieved that my paperwork passed the test. The employees were initially concerned but once we went through my booklet and I explained the Portuguese requirements, everything was good to go. They now have control of my bike so I should see it next in Porto tomorrow afternoon.

The time wenty rather quickly since there were loads of youtube videos available to pass the time. Soon it was time to board - the plane was full which was not a surprise considering that Air Canada has cut the daily flights from four down to two. This had me a bit concerned that the bike might not get onboard, but I DID see it on the luggage cart as it headed out to the plane. I would hope that since it was on the cart that it made it to the plane. I guess I'll find out in Porto tomorrow afternoon!

The Q400 got to yyz early so I zipped through the hallways to the Air Canada Signature Lounge which is absolutely amazing. They suggested trying the formal dining area since not all of their lounges have one. What a great choice - the fish, leek and mushrooms were amazing as was the basil sponge cake. They had all sorts of wine and beer available but I skipped it for a nice glass of tonic with lime. It went nicely with dinner.

Now I await the boarding of the A330 from YYZ to LIS and its departure at 10:55 pm. A bed awaits on the plane which is nice. After being up so early this morning, I am tired. Not to mention that I am an early to bed person so I am currently way past my bedtime!

My fish, leek and mushrooms in the Air Canada Signature Lounge. -- YYZ Toronto Pearson Airport.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A wide view from my table in the formal dining area of the Air Canada Signature Lounge. -- YYZ Toronto Pearson Airport.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My pretty table setting in the Air Canada Signature Lounge. -- YYZ Toronto Pearson Airport.
Heart 0 Comment 0

 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0