Ending the Trip in Style - Pandemic Purgatory - CycleBlaze

January 30, 2022

Ending the Trip in Style

The next three days were spent relaxing at the resort with Sophia and enjoying life.  

A nice trip but what's insane is there are still over three weeks left of this winter vacation and I have no idea how to fill it.  Ordinarily I'd be off cycling some exotic part of the world and keeping these international cycle tours going strong.  Touring within China has been a substitute but it falls short on so many levels.  A week is about all I can handle doing this before I get bored and not enjoying the cycling anymore.  So the brain has to get creative and find other ways to deal with this pandemic situation and fill the breaks with meaningful activities.

Maybe the epic cycling adventures will continue post-pandemic but we don't even know what will happen during the next break in summer or the winter break a year from now, or anything further down the line for that matter.  All we know is what can be done as of this moment.  

Meanwhile I am taking advantage of this time to sort out all my remaining stuff in storage and whittle it down.  That task is about 50% completed which I made headway on last summer.  For the remaining part of the winter break I want to finish the job.  The ultimate goal is a minimalist lifestyle.  Covid taught me that lesson when I left for a 'short holiday' in 2020 only to be living out of a backpack over 2 months with all my stuff inaccessible back in China.  So it proved it was possible to live with minimal stuff for a long time, and also that the larger amount of stuff was not a benefit, it was a burden.

So that's basically it.  Meanwhile I spent the time in lockdown and beyond to consolidate all these journals into a package

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0