Day 3: Breakdown in the Mountains - Pandemic Purgatory - CycleBlaze

January 27, 2021

Day 3: Breakdown in the Mountains

The day started out well enough.  After a nice leisurely sleep-in and a chance to do a strength workout in the fitness room before carb loading at the buffet breakfast, I set out across the bridge and through the city. 

The cop was quick to stop me at the main traffic light and insist I put on a mask.  Not one to argue with a cop, I put on the mask in front of him then took it off at the next traffic light.  It makes no sense to wear one outdoors and besides I'm vaccinated.

The hills quickly began and it was a relentless push up many mountain passes for the next five hours.  There was one older cyclist literally pushing his bike up this madness, and I wish I had somehow helped him when I had the chance.  The failure to do that jinxed my luck later on as you'll see.

Now we're getting started
Heart 1 Comment 0
Village perched on the hillside
Heart 0 Comment 0
The expressway towers above
Heart 0 Comment 0
Tunnel vision
Heart 0 Comment 0
Love live China
Heart 1 Comment 0

In the thick of the mountains was a small town called Zhirong.  The air was fresh, it was very chilly, and the atmosphere was relaxed and lively.   There were signs everywhere of normal life!  No masks, people laughing, music blaring, markets and shops bustling, and people gathered together in close contact.  Just like the pandemic didn't exist.  This was the surreal feeling that we all want, and for a brief moment I got to experience it.

Image not found :(
Market in the town
Heart 3 Comment 0
Lunch set
Heart 2 Comment 0

After an amazing lunch I set off for a few more ups and downs over ridges.  It was slow going but I knew from the 2003 trip that there would eventually be a point that the road drops down all the way into Fu'An.

Heart 2 Comment 0

Sure enough it was at that exact point my front tire went soft.  Shit!  It couldn't have happened at the worst place.  There was a mechanic within  the bunch of shacks on the top of the pass, but his air compressor hose didn't fit the one on my front tire.  Of all the great work they did back on the bike in Shanghai, this was not what I wanted:  they used a tire valve that doesn't fit the standard air compressors or bicycle pumps.  So there was nothing the mechanic could do.  

Dejected, I pushed the bike to the top of the pass and then folded up.  As soon as I did that, some older looking village person said, "Don't ride a bike, call a taxi, it'll cost 150 rmb."  I said nothing and just scowled at him. First of all, how does he know the price, and second, it isn't like you can just flag one down.  We are literally in the middle of nowhere.  All the buses have long since stopped running for the day since it is after 4pm.  Besides, it isn't every day that some foreigner comes along with a folding bike and stops at the top of the highest mountain pass on the road.  At the very least you could say something more inspiring than that.  

I tried using a Didi (Chinese Uber) but this was pointless because no cars were even close.  So the only thing to do was push the bike to a hidden area on some side road, then lock it up to a post and abandon it on the top of the mountain.  As I did this, that older village guy said, "You can't enter this road."  I said,  "See if I care" then locked up the bike twice.  I took off the front wheel, grabbed all my bags, and started walking down the mountain.  It was going to be a very, very, very, very long walk.

About 5km down the mountain I realized I could take a shortcut to the town far below. It's better than taking the elevator, it's the stairs!
Heart 3 Comment 0

It was slow going, but these stairs were a real lifesaver.  I could see all sorts of signs of life in that small town, and the sounds of children playing.  This would be a nice launch-off spot to find another mechanic and/or a car to Fu'An.  I stopped to take a phone call, and it was my future employer this coming August but actually one I've worked with before also.  Long story.  He and I had a nice chat about what I would be teaching, and this all happened in the dark on some mountain stairs.

Picking up the pace a bit after that, I made it to the town below and found another mechanic.  He confirmed that his air compressor wouldn't work with the tire valve also, and so I kept walking.   As I rounded the corner, an empty taxi showed up and I quickly flagged him down.  He offered 20rmb for the ride to FuAn which was a great deal, and as we got chatting, it turns out he had just dropped off a passenger and was heading back into the city.  The timing could not have been any more perfect.

Once in the city, I made a beeline for the McDonald's.  If someone had told me at that exact moment while walking down those mountain stairs in the dark that precisely one hour later I would be eating hamburgers and coke in McDonald's, I would think they were crazy.  

Heart 1 Comment 0

After that, time to check into my hotel booking.  It was a failure because they weren't set up to take foreigners.  I didn't bother trying to fight this, and just got a refund from trip.com.  The hotel guy was super cool about it, after all he doesn't make the rules, it is politics that dictates these things.  We had a cool chat and then he offered to use his phone to find a Didi and pay for the taxi to the next hotel I booked that certainly took foreigners.

Once there, checking in was a bit of a shitshow.  The green health code wasn't enough, they wanted to know details of all my travel history.  They helped me install an app that shows where you've been in 14 days, and of course the details of Suzhou and Shanghai came up.  They weren't sure how to deal with that, so I volunteered my negative covid test and all of a sudden they were all smiles and no problem.  Check in was a breeze after that.  It really showed the power of this negative test, and I'm going to keep that in mind.  The vaccine certificate I also have with me, and it may end up wielding even more power.  We'll see.

We all have that feeling
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 63 km (39 miles)
Total: 294 km (183 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Rachael AndersonWhat bad luck! Glad to see you made it to McDonald’s and a place to stay. I can’t wait to hear more!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Scott AndersonGood luck! Here’s hoping your bike is still there when you return. How about a photo of that non-standard valve? It must be something other than presto or Schrader?
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Marian RosenbergThe current advice on NFAs (No Foreigners Allowed) is to always book on Trip (which I see you did) and then, when the hotel says they can't take you, to make it Trip's problem. No, you won't be accepting a free cancellation, you will only be accepting for TRIP to find you an equal or better room within **km of your current location which you will not be paying any extra for.

Quite a number of people have ended up in 5* hotels at no additional charge after their cheap place rejected them.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago