York - Words From Off The Sea - CycleBlaze

June 28, 2022

York

a day trip

 All good things must come to an end and I'm becoming increasingly aware that this vacation is winding down. There's just a week left and today I get a train to York to spend a bit more time with my son. The weather is kind so we can mooch around some shops and enjoy a coffee al fresco somewhere in the city's historic centre. Unlike most visitors, active sightseeing is not on the agenda. 

Old roof by the River
Heart 1 Comment 0
Roy and me having coffees in York's centre
Heart 3 Comment 0
Gift from Roy
Heart 1 Comment 0
Bicycle secuity advice on Davygate
Heart 0 Comment 0

 Roy meets me at the train station and we walk the few minutes to the pedestrianized centre and soon find a cafe with a couple of tables outside and enjoy coffees and a snack. You could call it brunch.

 There are charity shops to call at and I buy a loud checked shirt as although the sun is out, I need another layer. It's a red lumberjack number that costs just a few quid. 

 Roy leads me to the Museum Gardens near the river, where carved stone remants of an abbey make a good place to sit for a while and chat.  It's a tranquil spot in what is a busy city.

 A train back to Lincoln leaves in the late hafternoon and it means I can catch the last bus back to Washingborough. They stop running at 7:00. Once off, I walk 50 metres or so up the High Street to The Ferry Boat and have dinner there.

Museum Gardens
Heart 2 Comment 0
Wall
Heart 1 Comment 0
Plastic flowers in the Ferry Boat, Washingborough
Heart 1 Comment 0
A pint of Landlord
Heart 1 Comment 2
Scott AndersonHey, one I recognize!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Graham FinchTo Scott AndersonI had one for you!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0