Lincoln for a few days - Words From Off The Sea - CycleBlaze

May 14, 2022 to May 16, 2022

Lincoln for a few days

a ride out to Bardney

 The short tour of Norfolk has left me feeling pretty tired and I need a few days to get myself sorted before embarking on another bike trip. Today - Saturday - I've arranged to meet Tig and my younger brother up in the Morning Star to watch the FA Cup final on the pub's TV and after watching that I ride back to Dave's and have an early night. 

Longboat going up the Witham as I ride to Bardney
Heart 1 Comment 0

 My seven-year-old grandson Oscar is playing football for his village team, so it's back on the bike path at the end of Ferry Lane at gone 10 o'clock, but this time I cycle east, away from Lincoln and into a stiff headwind. 

 It's a 10km ride to the village of Bardney, where the game  against the local boy's team is being played, and my speed isn't great. By the time I get there, half the game has been played. Not to worry. Oscar gets a hattrick and I see him score.

Oscar scored
Heart 3 Comment 1
Keith KleinHi,
No doubt your dad would be proud. Football must run in your genes.
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Having a drink and a bite to eat at the Heritage Centre in Bardney
Heart 2 Comment 0

  It's a warm, clammy sort of day and I hope to get a sausage roll from the butchers in Bardney, but with it being Sunday it's closed, so Ruby drives the boys off and I head to the local Heritage Centre for an overpriced coffee and a bacon bap.  It's housed in a former railway station and there's various old stuff from the days of steam on display. They have fridge magnets bearing the names of nearby stations that also no longer exist and I buy a Washingborough one as it's doubtful there's anything else made that has the village's name.

 It's then a steady ride back to Dave's place.

 My plan is to get away again on Tuesday. I have a loop going into Nottinghamshire and north Lincolnshire mapped out.

The path back to Washingborough
Heart 2 Comment 0
Scupture
Heart 2 Comment 0
Some kind of grass
Heart 2 Comment 0
Old photo of Washingborough - pub on the right
Heart 1 Comment 0
Hunters Leap pub on the right - The Ferry Boat pub is the white building just down the hill
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 20 km (12 miles)
Total: 469 km (291 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0