Lincoln for a few days - Words From Off The Sea - CycleBlaze

June 3, 2022 to June 6, 2022

Lincoln for a few days

with a trip to York

 There are a few days for me to do various things and I meet my younger brother and go through teh football programmes he wants on one day and meet dave and a friend called Mark in The Morning Star.

 On Saturday Oscar is playing for his village team and I cycle back along the bike path to Lincoln and catch a train to Saxilby, then Ruby drives us to a nearby town. There a few teams and each plays about four games with Saxilby winning the tournament. I manage to snap Oscar scroring one of his goals... 

Oscar scores
Heart 2 Comment 0
Charlie
Heart 2 Comment 0
Post-game fun
Heart 0 Comment 0

 It's now over a month since I arrived and Dave hasn't been out for a ride with me yet. On Sunday night we go to the other pub in Washingborough - Hunters Leap - and discuss some possible rides that we can do and on Monday I get a train to York, where my son lives. 

 It's great to spend some time with him and we wander around the old city chattng about this and that. He shows me to the city's library, so that I can do a bit of research about my dad  - there's one game in 1958 that I want to know if he played in. Unfortunately the achives don't have newspaper files for that particular period, so the librarian kindly goes online to search a site that has access to many British newspapers. That doesn't have any either, so I end up emailing the actual newspaper hoping someone there can help. 

Coffee in York
Heart 0 Comment 0
York
Heart 1 Comment 0
Merchant Adventuer's Hall, York - built around 1357
Heart 1 Comment 0
Great name for a street
Heart 2 Comment 0
Tea towels
Heart 0 Comment 0
They left the pedals
Heart 0 Comment 0
At a cafe beside the river with Roy
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 25 km (16 miles)
Total: 974 km (605 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0