Almost a Week in Washingborough - Words From Off The Sea - CycleBlaze

June 9, 2022 to June 13, 2022

Almost a Week in Washingborough

hanging out

 It's a good job I'm here for a few months. There's just all kinds of stuff to do, including selling a bunch of duplicate footbal prorammes, ones which I take photos of and put on ebay. The idea is to have nothing left in the UK before getting on the plane for Taiwan.

 My younger brother's birthday is celebrated - surprise surprise - in the Mornings Star with a beer or two, and hanging out with Ruby is high on my agenda. 

 After the boys go to school, she drives us out to the market town of Horncastle, where I search in vain for brass lamp holders at a ramshackle antiques shop. Ruby buys half a dozen brass candlesticks at reasonable prices and we enjoy a nice lunch in the Admiral Rodney before looking around a few charity shops.  It's the kind of day most fathers likely take for granted, but it's one that I'm conscious won't be possible for a quite long time once July rolls around and I'm back home.

 The following day Dave and I drive to the train station in Lincoln and buy tickets for the express north to Newcastle. We have a tour planned and the bikes need to be reserved, as there are just two spaces on each train. 

 On Sunday I get a train to Saxilby and the whole family then goes to a big car boot at Hemswell, where I buy Dave a hosta for just a quid and get myself three pairs of casual shorts for a fiver from a guy who's having a clearout after loosing weight. A pair of Superdry with a camouflage  pattern goes on eBay once I'm back to Dave's as they don't fit very well and they end up fetching 25 quid. Nice.

  Monday is spent making sure Dave and I have everything packed for an early departure on Tuesday morning. The weather forecast is good. We're pumped. 

A surplus 1950s Lincoln City football programme I sold on eBay (Dad at 11)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ruby in Horncastle
Heart 1 Comment 0
One of the antique shops in Horncastle
Heart 2 Comment 0
Organised chaos
Heart 1 Comment 0
Mural
Heart 1 Comment 0
Swan with signet in Lincoln
Heart 1 Comment 0
Charlie at Hemswell Car Boot, looking for Pokemon cards
Heart 2 Comment 0
Charlie at the skate park in Saxilby
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 12 km (7 miles)
Total: 1,066 km (662 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0