Day 048 - Huntington to Angola - Two Far 2023 - Oranges to Apples - CycleBlaze

June 2, 2023

Day 048 - Huntington to Angola

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride was just OK.  It was long and, for the most part, hot & windy.  In addition, I made a poor choice of roads when planning this segment, especially between Columbia City and Corunna.

Having said the above, the day started out fine.  Because I knew I had a long day ahead, I was rolling shortly after 8AM.  I took back roads between Huntington and Columbia City that had very little traffic and gently rolling hills. The scenery in this section didn't vary much - it was all beans and corn.  I mainly passed the miles checking on how straight the rows had been planted. (They must use lasers or some such, as I only noticed a couple of fields that didn't have perfectly straight rows)

I also enjoyed looking at all the barns and farm equipment but today I wasn't inclined to bore everybody with photos of such.

A nice house in the country.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Whitley County Courthouse in Columbia City.
Heart 1 Comment 0

My first stop of the day was at the Whitley County Historical Museum.  It was a nice local museum that is housed in the home of Thomas R. Marshall, who was Woodrow Wilson's VP.  Besides the VP, the museum's other claims to fame are exhibits for Janie Fricke and Major League baseball players Brent Gaff and Bruce Miller, none of whom I had ever heard of.

Janie Fricke reached her peak in the 80's but is still recording.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Brent Gaff played for the Mets in the 80's, while Bruce Miller played for the Angels and Giants in the 70's.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Indiana only consisted of the colored areas when it became a state in 1816. The rest of present-day Indiana was Indian territory. Their lands were later ceded by various treaties.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Furnishing of VP Marshall's house.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Churubusco is nicknamed "Turtle Town" because of the alleged sightings in the 1940's of a giant turtle, locally known as Oscar.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Many businesses cash in on the turtle theme.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Remains on an old trestle along IN-205.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I mentioned in my opening that it was windy. Guess which way I was headed :-)
Heart 1 Comment 0
The RR museum in Garrett was closed, but I stopped by anyway.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The museum was next to a CSX yard. Both of these trains were crewed but were waiting on another train to pass.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The only thing I saw rolling were these 2 locomotives.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Barn picture of the day
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was after 5PM before I reached our hotel. I was hot & worn out, so the first thing I did was take a quick shower and then a short nap.  Afterwards, neither of us felt like going out, so it was cheese, crackers & jerky for dinner, but hey, life is still grand!

Today's ride: 70 miles (113 km)
Total: 2,278 miles (3,666 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Keith A. SpanglerKerry it was 96 here today, I bagged biking! Took my camera for a walk. Now I'm sitting next to a campfire. Life is still grand - love it. Stay safe you guys!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago