Day 040 - Pittsburgh, PA to Wheeling, WV - Two Far 2023 - Oranges to Apples - CycleBlaze

May 25, 2023

Day 040 - Pittsburgh, PA to Wheeling, WV

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride was varied, both weather-wise and surface-wise.  I knew that I had 60 miles to ride and that there were going to be some hills, so I decided to get an early start.  I also knew that it was cold outside, so I put a long sleeve shirt on underneath my jersey, figuring that would be enough. 

As soon as I stepped outside, I knew that what I was wearing wouldn't cut it.  I went to the car and got out my long pants, windbreaker and winter gloves.  Thus outfitted, I started out.  

The first 6 miles were on busy city streets but then I picked up the Panhandle Trail.  The first 7 miles of this trail was hard-pack and only in fair shape, as there were patches of loose sand in some areas, and tire ruts in other areas.  At the Washington County line however, it turned into a paved trail that was in excellent shape. I enjoyed the smooth asphalt and gentle grades for about 20 miles before I had to leave the trail for back country roads.

Once back on the road, I really hit the hills.  Thankfully, I only had about six miles of this before I got to the Ohio River and things flattened out. (Actually, I didn't ride this entire section - there was a lot of hoofing it involved, as well as several stops to catch my breath :-).  The hills also warmed me up enough that I removed all my cold weather gear, even though it was still very cool.

Once at the Ohio River, I finished the ride on three separate, but connected, trails - The Yankee Trail, the Brooke Pioneer Trail and the Wheeling Heritage Trail.  Once in Wheeling, it was easy to find our hotel as it was only a block off of the Heritage Trail.

After taking a short break and cleaning up, Jeanna & I took a walk along the riverfront and found a great little dive where we had an excellent dinner of quesadillas, tacos and beer.  Life is so good!

This small, unnamed park was near the beginning of the Panhandle Trail.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hunner's, in Sturgeon, PA. In 2014, Jeanna & I had our first-ever Perogies here. They were listed as the daily special, and we had to ask what they were, as we had never heard of them before. (We have been eating them ever since) I had to stop and have them again - they were as good as the first time!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I came upon Rich, Kathy, Shelia and Bob on the trail. We rode together for a very enjoyable 10 miles. Thanks guys!!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Pike Island Dam and Lock on the Ohio River. There was a gate open and a sign right behind the gate pointing the way to the observation deck, but as soon as I entered the area, someone appeared and told me I was in a restricted area and for me to leave. I pointed out that there was no sign saying, "Keep Out", but he failed to see the humor :-)
Heart 0 Comment 0
A close up of the lock.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking down river.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Tomorrow I'll enter Ohio and ride some more hills.

Today's ride: 60 miles (97 km)
Total: 1,846 miles (2,971 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0