Day 022 - Virginia Beach to Exmore - Two Far 2023 - Oranges to Apples - CycleBlaze

May 7, 2023

Day 022 - Virginia Beach to Exmore

Heart 1 Comment 0

It was another great day.  The weather today was warmer. which was very nice.  I left the motel before 9AM, planning to ride the 13 miles to the toll booth at the Bay Bridge Tunnel, where we would then load my bike on the car for the ride across the water.   Shortly before I got there, Jeanna called and said she was running a little late and that she was also getting low on gas. I was just then riding past a Sunoco Station and told her to meet me there, and I would perform my husbandly duty and fill the car with gas (I've been filling Jeanna's cars for 49+ years).  While at the gas station we decided to go ahead and load the bike, so technically I got about a mile 'bump', but hey, who's counting :-).

Riding thru Virginia Beach. I had the bus / bike lane all to myself on this Sunday morning.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Just outside Virginia Beach, Shore Drive goes thru the First Landing State Park.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Once on the DELMARVA Peninsula, we stopped at the visitor Center to unload the bike.  While doing this we met Linda & Eric who are also tandem riders.  They live full time in their RV and have their Co-Motion Equator tandem in the back of the pick-up.  During our talk, we discovered that we have several friends in common. They spend their winters in Webster, FL, which is not far from us, so we made plans to get together this fall for a tandem ride.

Linda and Eric
Heart 0 Comment 0
As soon as I left the Visitors Center, I was out in the country riding on roads like this.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I generally post photos in the order that I take them, but today I'm going to group the crops I saw together, no matter where along the route I encountered them.

Potato field.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wheat field.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Canola field.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Close up of a Canola (rapeseed) plant.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A very large tomato farm. For every 6 rows of tomatoes there is what appears to be a row of wheat. I don't know the reason for this.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Close up of young tomato plants. The red stakes appear to be made from plastic instead of wood.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is a close up of what's grown between the tomato rows.
Heart 0 Comment 0
There were three tractors spraying the field as I went by. (I couldn't get all three in one photo)
Heart 0 Comment 0
I also saw this very tall grain, but don't know what it is.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My old house photo of the day.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Two driveways caught my eye today.

The entrance of "Bonderosa", a couple of miles outside of Cape Charles.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I passed this unnamed driveway shortly before the end of my ride.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Before we left the Visitors Center, we made plans to meet for lunch about 12 miles up the road.  Jeanna took the direct route, I took the back roads route.  After lunch, Jeanna went on to the motel, while I checked out Cape Charles and more of the countryside.

Cape Charles Lighthouse
Heart 0 Comment 0
View from Cape Charles - ships headed to Norfolk.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Historic downtown Cape Charles was very busy on a nice Sunday afternoon.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I did not see what rail line this car was from, but I saw another one with the same color scheme a short while later. I know it's not an excursion train because all the tracks to Cape Charles have been torn out.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Enjoying the beach in Cape Charles.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Some nice waterfront homes.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cape Charles had a very nice city park in the middle of town.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Entrance to the park.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The roses were very fragrant.
Heart 0 Comment 0
More roses found at the entrance to the park.
Heart 0 Comment 0
There were very nice older homes throughout the town.
Heart 0 Comment 0
These houses were more colorful than most of the others on the block.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Tiny houses as vacation rentals.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I passed this year which was full of chickens and turkeys. I don't know what kept them in the yard, because the yard was not fenced. They all just ignored me when I stopped to take their picture.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Train station and caboose in Nassawadox.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I got to the motel around 4:30, where Jeanna had a snack and a beer waiting.  I'm really getting use to this!

Tomorrow's destination is Pocomoke City.

Today's ride: 76 miles (122 km)
Total: 1,142 miles (1,838 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Curt & Helene Reedsounds like your living a dream
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithTo Curt & Helene ReedSo far, we're both enjoying this system. Kerry is having fun riding unloaded and I am finding pleasant places to walk to get my 10,000 steps a day. We meet for lunch every day and sometimes at other stops along the way. Life is good!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago