Day 016 - Beaufort to Cedar Island - Two Far 2023 - Oranges to Apples - CycleBlaze

May 1, 2023

Day 016 - Beaufort to Cedar Island

Heart 1 Comment 0

Today was a great day, which was nice after the disappointment of yesterday.  Jeanna and I have been to Cedar Island many times to catch the ferry to Ocracoke, but we never visited Harkers Island or Atlantic.  The goal today was to visit both.  

Dilapidated House of the Day
Heart 0 Comment 0
On US70, just outside Beaufort, NC - I always thought the Outer Banks started at Ocracoke.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
View from bridge over North River just before Otway.
Heart 2 Comment 0
New bridge to Harkers Island. It is replacing the old drawbridge
Heart 1 Comment 0
Fishing fleet at Harkers Island
Heart 1 Comment 1
Keith A. SpanglerThe fishing villages are always cool to visit!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

We went to Harkers Island to visit the Core Sound Waterfowl Museum.  We were expecting an older, smaller museum, as is so often found in small towns.  We were really surprised at how large and modern the museum was.   This is one of those museums, that if your ever in the area, it's well worth your visit.

As the museum's name implies, at large portion was dedicated to waterfowl, and especially decoys. There were hand carved decoys throughout.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Woodcarving Art
Heart 1 Comment 0

One room was dedicated to the hurricanes of the Outer Banks.  Here is the history of the storms.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
The museum had exhibits for several Harkers Island families, such as these boat builders.
Heart 0 Comment 0
History of hunting guides and decoy carvers on Harkers Island
Heart 0 Comment 0
Detailed map of Down East
Heart 0 Comment 0

Another large room was dedicated to quilts.

A duck themed quilt.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Gallery of local quilts and decoys
Heart 0 Comment 0
The panels in this quilt highlighted local businesses and families.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Lifesavers Motto caught my eye.
Heart 0 Comment 0
View from atop the Core Sound Waterfowl Museum. The Cape Lookout Lighthouse is in the distance.
Heart 1 Comment 0
There was a gaggle of geese across from the museum.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Keith A. SpanglerGreat time of year to travel this area….
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Anchors like this one are very popular on Harkers Island - they were even being sold in the museum. So many houses and businesses had them, that I wonder if they were sold as a local fundraiser.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Most of the waterfront homes on the island had private docks with boat lifts.
Heart 1 Comment 0

After leaving Harkers Island, I went through the country until I rejoined US70 at Smyrna.  In the early 80's, I worked for Wrangler Jeans and spent some time installing a computer system in a sewing plant there.  The building must have been torn down, because nothing looked familiar to me today.  Still, riding through the area brought back a lot of memories of my work there.

On the way to Cedar Island.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The 2nd Williston of the trip. I'll be in at least one more (ND)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Couldn't help myself :-)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Some more nice waterfront homes along the way to Cedar Island.
Heart 1 Comment 0
There are boats and docks everywhere.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I don't know what the business in, but the art caught my eye. It is not painted, but rather made from tiles and shells.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today was quite windy, with wind speeds of 20 to 25 MPH.  Luckily, most of the day I had a tailwind.  After I passed Davis, the landscape changes - it goes from mostly wooded to mostly open marshland.   It was at this point that I really started to fly.  I know touring is not supposed to be how quick you can get from Point A to Point B, but one time I looked at my Garmin to discover that I was going over 26 MPH on flat ground.  That really brought a smile to my face :-) 

Riding (or in today's case flying) through the marshes.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Salters Creek.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Bridge over Salters Creek.
Heart 1 Comment 0

At Sealevel, I detoured off US70 to ride down to Atlantic.  With that turn, I was headed South, and the tailwind became a headwind. I found myself struggling to do 7-8 MPH for a mile or so, until I turned back to the north.  Atlantic has fallen on hard times, and all the businesses have closed and there was nothing really to see.  While the road to Atlantic was in good shape and there was no traffic, I would not make the detour again.

A radar installation at Marine Corps Outlying Field Atlantic
Heart 1 Comment 0
I rode into the site to find out more, but this is all the info there was.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Shortly after passing the radar station, I was back in US70 with only about 9 miles to go.  I called ahead to Jeanna, and she had a cold beer poured for me when I arrived around 4:30. 

Life is so good!!

Today's ride: 62 miles (100 km)
Total: 827 miles (1,331 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Keith A. SpanglerCold Beer ….. hugs to Jeanna
Reply to this comment
10 months ago