Day 015 - Jacksonville to Beaufort - Two Far 2023 - Oranges to Apples - CycleBlaze

April 30, 2023

Day 015 - Jacksonville to Beaufort

Heart 1 Comment 0

In my last post, I said that I was undecided on which route to take to Virginia, due the weather.  Well, I decided to continue with the original plan, which was to ride on the Outer Banks.

However, todays ride ended up being a hybrid - part bike and part car.  Jeanna did not want me to ride at all today because of the forecasted thunderstorms.  Looking at the forecast, I thought I would probably get wet, but that I could avoid the thunderstorms.  I got the first sprinkles about 30 minutes into the ride, but they soon quit, and the sun even peaked out. At that point, I thought I might luck out.  I called Jeanna and we made plans to meet in Swansboro for lunch.  A couple of miles from Swansboro the sky started to look ominous, and just as I was just riding into the parking lot, a heavy rain started.   At that point I made the decision to bag the rest of the ride, and we both got very wet as we loaded the bike on the car. 

 We reached our hotel in Beaufort around 12:30.  Our room was not ready, of course, so we sat in the car while it continued to rain until our room was ready.  Finally, around 2:30, it stopped raining, and shortly thereafter, our room was ready.  By 3 PM the skies were blue, and I was wishing I had just waited out the rain while in Swansboro - such is life!

It's always nice to follow a Bike Route
Heart 1 Comment 0
Mother Nature taking over
Heart 0 Comment 0
Carolina Corn
Heart 0 Comment 0
First tobacco field sighting
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wheat
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mallory, the receptionist at our hotel, was very interested our bike trips.
Heart 1 Comment 0
House on Beaufort waterfront. Notice how blue the sky is. :-)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another large house on the waterfront
Heart 0 Comment 0
Beaufort tourist district. This was taken just a short while after the house photos. There were clouds rolling in and it became very windy. If fact, the winds continued for the rest of the afternoon and into the evening.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Beaufort Marina and boardwalk
Heart 0 Comment 0

Tomorrow's destination is Cedar Island.

Today's ride: 24 miles (39 km)
Total: 765 miles (1,231 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Keith A. SpanglerWeather is being crazy….becareful
Reply to this comment
10 months ago