Day 014 - Wilmington to Jacksonville - Two Far 2023 - Oranges to Apples - CycleBlaze

April 29, 2023

Day 014 - Wilmington to Jacksonville

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today was just a day for riding, and I mean that in a good way.  I did not stop to take many pictures, because I was enjoying myself too much and the miles just flew by.  I had good roads most of the day and a nice tailwind - what more can a cyclist ask for? 

Looking south at the Intercoastal Waterway from atop the bridge at Surf City
Heart 2 Comment 0
Looking back to the mainland, admiring the great bike lane.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking north at the Intercoastal Waterway, as I exit Topsail Island.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I stopped at a C-Store just before I got on US-17, where I met 2 very friendly cashiers.  I was standing in line with my fountain drink when Kirsten asked if that was all I had.  I said "Yes", and she smiled while waving me off, and told me to have a nice day - and that's just the type of day it was.  

Kirsten, a very friendly cashier. Thanks for the drink!
Heart 2 Comment 0
And this is Kirsten's cohort, Emma.
Heart 2 Comment 0

The weather for tomorrow, and the next few days, looks dicey, so I'm going to spend some time tonight deciding if I want to continue to the Outer Banks, or change my plans and ride an inland route.  

Today's ride: 64 miles (103 km)
Total: 741 miles (1,193 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0