Day 99 - Fostoria, OH to Bluffton, OH - Two Far 2020 - NTF (Not Two Far) - CycleBlaze

September 6, 2020

Day 99 - Fostoria, OH to Bluffton, OH

Heart 2 Comment 0

Today was so much better than yesterday!   The roads were very good for cycling, the temperature was perfect and the headwinds were light to moderate.  Even a few sprinkles of rain didn't spoil our pleasure in the ride.  I even think it's good to have a hard day like yesterday once in a while to give you an appreciation for the good days.

I didn't take many pictures today.  Corn, beans, farms, country roads - the same, but not boring for us.  I am getting a little bored with posting the same things over and over though.  I wish I had something new and different to share.

Roads like this are an invitation to cyclists.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Keith A. SpanglerYou are so, so right about having not as good of days makes better days ahead. Guys, I didn’t tell you, but my mom passed away Aug. 6. I miss her, but she is a better place and now I can have peace as I travel. I would have been in Canada during her passing, if not for COVID. You guys keep posting, we aren’t bored!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithTo Keith A. SpanglerWe're sorry to hear about your mom, Keith. It is so hard to lose a parent. I remember worrying about my mom going while we were away and I understand what you mean by peace as you travel. Enjoy your upcoming trip.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
We took a short detour through Van Buren State Park.
Heart 2 Comment 0

We saw this man plowing a field covered with large yellow vegetables.  Kerry correctly identified cucumbers.  There were so many, it seemed that he was plowing under the whole crop, not just the unharvested ones.

Heart 1 Comment 0

One of our stops was in the town of McComb.  The panther is the McComb High School mascot.

McComb mural
Heart 3 Comment 0
Old Coke mural on an antique store.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Back on the road, we saw a big field of ripening pumpkins.

Some of these look about ready for Halloween.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Keith A. SpanglerCan you believe it Halloween - crazy
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

The obligatory daily barn.  

Whatever is stored in here is not very protected from the weather!
Heart 2 Comment 1

And the last picture from today - some big cows.  It's hard to see the scale in this photo, but these are some really tall cows!

Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 3,291 miles (5,296 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Keith A. SpanglerKeep rolling my friends.........
Reply to this comment
3 years ago