Day 71 - Adams, WI to Baraboo, WI - Two Far 2020 - NTF (Not Two Far) - CycleBlaze

August 9, 2020

Day 71 - Adams, WI to Baraboo, WI

Heart 3 Comment 1
Keith A. SpanglerThat looks like a lumpy profile!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

We set the alarm this morning so we could have a better chance of beating the rain and heat.  We didn't get on the road until 9:45 in spite of waking up at 7:00.  I don't know how I used to get to work by 8:00 every morning!

But we were successful in avoiding both the rain and the heat.  It stayed so cloudy all day that I'm sure it never got close to the forecast 88 degrees.  I'd guess more like 78 for a high.  And the rain didn't start until we had been in our room for over an hour.  The only thing we were unsuccessful in today was hill climbing without dismounting.  We had to use "four on the floor" on the last big hill today.   Kerry pushed the bike up and I walked.  He finds it easier to push by himself than having me try to help.  My short legs can't keep up with his pace.

I took very few pictures today.  Nothing seemed very interesting.  We did ride through the tourist town of Wisconsin Dells.  It was Myrtle Beach, SC without the ocean.  There were tons of cheesy tourist traps and very crowded streets.  I think the actual gorge on the Wisconsin River that is known as the dells is probably a splendid thing to see, but cycling through the town was an experience we could have skipped.

Attraction in Wisconsin Dells
Heart 2 Comment 0
Looks like a beach store to me.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Once we made our way past Wisconsin Dells, the state of Wisconsin favored us with more miles of newly paved roads.  The Wisconsin highway department has been very good to us.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Farm picture of the day
Heart 1 Comment 0
A Wisconsin vista
Heart 1 Comment 1
I love weeping willow trees. This one is gorgeous.
Heart 2 Comment 0

We're going to take a couple of days here in Baraboo to plan the next part of our trip and work on routes to Ohio.  I think we'll be heading back to Florida by late September.  

Today's ride: 40 miles (64 km)
Total: 2,208 miles (3,553 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltYou camped near Devils Lake, the rock climbing "mecca" of the midwest! I went there with a friend once to climb on the hard pink quartzite cliffs. Neat place! Or at least it was in the early 1980s.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago