Day 14 - Ullin, IL Rest day - Two Far 2020 - NTF (Not Two Far) - CycleBlaze

June 13, 2020

Day 14 - Ullin, IL Rest day

SAG Supplement

I've been letting (making!) Kerry and John do the daily posts until now.  John left for home this morning and Kerry and I are taking a rest day to get organized for our Not Two Far meandering through the midwest.

Being the SAG driver was not bad.  I was able to plan places for us to meet and let them know what facilities were ahead.  I had to wait at each stop for them to arrive, but I had books to read on my phone and most days it was not too hot to wait in the car.  All the rest areas along the Natchez Trace were closed and there are very few stores near the Trace, so there was too much using the "Green Room" to suit me!  Other than that, I had a good time.  The guys posted pictures and stories about the places we visited.  I have just a couple of things to add.

Sorry it's a little blurry. This bird nest with four babies was in the eave above the front porch at the hotel. John said he thought they were barn swallows. We had fun watching the parents feeding the babies.
Heart 2 Comment 0
These shrubs with large "pods" were planted in a bed in front of the Visitor Center on the Woodlands Trace National Scenic Byway in Land Between the Lakes near the Kentucky-Tennessee boundary. Any of you know what they are?
Heart 2 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltI tried, but it must be a non-native garden plant. Could not even find a good match searching garden plant sites!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithTo Bill ShaneyfeltIf you can't identify it, Bill, I can't imagine who could. Thanks for trying, though!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Heart 2 Comment 0

I've learned a few things I'd do to make SAG driving more comfortable for a long trip, but I'm still up for being their SAG on a trip to Seattle next year.   And,  thank you John for the nice comments.  It was fun!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Liz ReddingJeanna, if you have an iPhone or iPad check out the app "INaturalist". You can post pictures of plants, animals, etc. and it will pop up suggestions for what it is. Works great!

Have fun on those steep grades!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithTo Liz ReddingWe don't have "I-anything". There is probably something similar for Android. I'll have to check.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago