Day 98 Bathurst, NB - Two Far 2019 - Coasting Along to the Maritimes - CycleBlaze

July 31, 2019

Day 98 Bathurst, NB

Heart 2 Comment 0

We left very early this morning to get here before the thunderstorms, which were forecast to begin by 1 PM.  We got here before noon with blue skies overhead.  The rain started around 3:30.  Kerry and I always disagree on what to do on days like this.  He's in favor of sticking to the plan and if it rains, we get wet.  When I see an 80% chance of thunderstorms, I want to do what we need to do to avoid the storms.  When it doesn't rain, Kerry feels shortchanged and I feel guilty.  So, that was our day.  We probably could have left later, gone to the Acadian Village and still made it here before the storms came, but that's part of travel, too.

We rode along Chaleur Bay today.  The scenery is still beautiful.  Most of the way, we passed farms.

Heart 3 Comment 1
Keith A. SpanglerJeanna, that “....shortchanged....” gig is a man’s thing. I often feel that way too (I’m defending you my brother). Hehehe
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Lobster traps waiting for the start of next season
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
We have been seeing lots of RV's on the road. There are many small RV parks and parking spots along the bay.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
We haven't seen a tractor line in a few weeks.
Heart 3 Comment 0
This is called Pokeshaw Rock. It is covered with birds, but a little out of focus.
Heart 1 Comment 0

When I can quit taking pictures of the water, I see all these pretty wildflowers.  We saw lots of these today.

Heart 3 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltLooks kind of like fireweed. Not close enough to show detail and be sure.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chamaenerion
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltSome kind of vetch.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vicia
Reply to this comment
4 years ago

I think we only went through one little town today, Grande-Anse.    There was a house clearly celebrating it's Acadian heritage.

Heart 2 Comment 0
I think these are the flags of the Canadian provinces.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Keith A. SpanglerCool. I’ll have to get the flags for my two provinces - like flying them on my travels.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
And this is a park shelter.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Tomorrow looks clear and sunny, so we can leave at a civilized time.  The route takes us more miles along the bay.  The pictures will probably look just like today's.

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 3,695 miles (5,947 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0