Tombstone- Sierra Vista via Old Mule Pass - Tucson Area Thanksgiving Tour 2020 - CycleBlaze

November 25, 2020

Tombstone- Sierra Vista via Old Mule Pass

Heart 0 Comment 0

2,477 elevation gain

After creating multiple route possibilities, Hank and I decided on riding to the top of the pass and turning around to take the shorter direction to Sierra Vista. It is a 13 mile round trip detour to the top. Jacinto will continue on to Bisbee and around the long way.

Hank and I went to breakfast at the OK Cafe. My omelet was excellent. Hank said the coffee was good. The waitress greeted everyone by name. Tourists must not get out early. No one had masks. Not even the help. I brought Jacinto an omelet and coffee to go. He was still asleep when we got back.

Hank was inclined to depart at 9:30, while I wanted to go at 8:30 before my breakfast totally wore off. We agreed on 9. He sent me some phone numbers to try in Sonoita for lodging. I called the Sonoita Inn again, this time the lady added detail. She said they were booked for a ‘big roping’ and didn’t expect any cancellations. Is a roping like a rodeo?

We went to breakfast at 7 AM, with a 9 AM agreed upon depart. I made the mistake of asking for a photo outside of the cabin. Jacinto had to go get a cap. Hank needed to get his tripod out . . . by the time we posed this way and that way, it was 9:27 when we departed.

I gave myself the pep talk about being on vacation and not being so worried about the clock. The temperature wouldn't be so warm today. Wind would be the issue. Wind doesn't seem to bother Hank in the slightest. Jacinto keeps saying it is because recumbents are low. I ride a recumbent and I definitely don't like wind!

I do like sleeping in and going for a real breakfast. Jacinto is carrying oatmeal fixings for me and I haven't used them once this trip. He hasn't complained yet.

Finally we were ready to go. I turned my bike down the street and sat down. Jacinto asked me where I was going. It was all I could do to keep from snapping at him (because we were wasting time). Jacinto and Hank agreed that I was pointed the wrong direction. I needed to be heading away from Tombstone. Sigh. I get lost easily. Hank said he was known to get lost also. Too bad there hadn't been anyone with him to say take a right on Pendleton . . . .

We were finally off. Tom and I had ridden this road last summer. We had started in Benson in the heat of summer. By the time we hit Tombstone, we were already a little tired and a lot hot. I tried to look for spots Tom and I had stopped, but couldn't identify anything. ADOT still hadn't taken care of the grass growing through the cracks in the road. That is so odd.

It was 15.7 miles to the turn to Sierra Vista. If I were telling the truth, I would admit that without Hank, I would have taken the turn and been too lazy to ride up the pass. It was 6.5 miles and 1,200 feet of climbing. I warned Hank several times that climbing is very personal and don't worry about trying to stay with me. I generally stop every mile on the mile for a quick break.

I've been happy with my performance this trip. I've been riding at home, but not touring distances. Truthfully, hardly any distance at all. Ten miles a trip. Just enough to be happy about getting outside and riding. The first day of the tour was my most difficult day. I was a little concerned about the rest of the trip. My legs have only gotten better. One thing I've been doing is taking Hammer brand Anti Fatigue capsules. They seem to help. I don't think my legs have magically gotten that good all on there own. I also think it has been far too long since our summer tour ended for my legs to have any left over memory. Today I took two capsules every hour, and felt strong the entire way up.

I was pleased to see the miles tick away and I hadn't even considered stopping more frequently than each mile. The heat and the headwind really did a number on us in June. Hank and I continued to ride a similar pace and arrived at the top at the same time. I called Jacinto and he was only one mile behind us. I said we would wait for a photo. Hank and I were both chilled by the time Jacinto arrived. He was in a good mood and ready to ride the ~200 extra feet of climbing over the old pass road, which goes around the tunnel.

We all agreed there seemed to be more traffic than we expected. We speculated it was people traveling for the holiday. The pavement from Highway 90, on the climb was fresh with a good shoulder. Lucky us! It made for a smooth downhill. Hank was long gone. He said 50 is his usual top speed and maybe he would make it 40 since he had panniers on the bike. Me? 25 feels plenty fast. Hank had to wait for me at the corner.

We had 2,000 feet total descending before a 500 foot climb. It took us until mile 35 to run out of downhill. Even though we were at a nice speed going downhill, the Highway 90 part wasn't as nice. It was old, cracked pavement with an ill placed rumble strip. We wanted to ride in the driving lane and it was difficult to switch back and forth. I finally gave up and stayed on the cracked, dirty shoulder. Hank continued to switch back and forth.

We made a few stops along the way. Hank couldn't get the right combination of clothing and I was suddenly very hungry. Hank said he thought he was drinking far too much as he peed 7 times during the day. I went twice and Jacinto said only once. I'm sure you needed to know about our bathroom habits! But, it was a scintillating conversation that I felt the need to share.

I was more than ready to get to town. It doesn't seem to matter how many miles I ride in a day, I'm ready to see the motel.

Wind was mostly a headwind all day. Not too strong, but annoying. Perhaps 10 mph?

We agreed there seemed to be a lot of traffic on the highway, but once we got in town, I felt like the roads should be busier for mid afternoon on a Wednesday. We had a back road/residential route to our lodging at the Windemere Hotel. It's a large place. The check in clerk had a short list of names on her sheet. Perhaps five. That's tough for any lodging, much less a place this large. I was so happy to see a buffet set up I could hardly talk. Yes indeed, we get a hot breakfast in the morning. It is set up behind plexiglass and our plates are filled by an attendant. Hurray! Our first included breakfast in a long time. Plus, the cost of the overnight is the lowest of the trip so far.

I was feeling happy as I opened the door to the room. The room was extra large, with a couple of potential parking spots. Fridge, and microwave. AND - a big bug right in the middle of the floor. I almost stepped on it, barefoot. I called Hank over. He brought his flashlight and checked drawers for bugs and behind furniture. I checked the bed. No more bugs, besides a small one behind the fridge. I went to throw the bug in the trash and Hank said I should take a photo of it to show the check in clerk. I did take the photo. . . . but I didn't say anything. Overall I'm happy. Hank says I just got a little bonus for my money.

I did the getting to town things and had just settled in to work on the journal when Jacinto called. He was here already. Getting a late start in the morning means I don't get the journal done before Jacinto gets in and Spoon doesn't get to read it with his toddy! Sorry, Spoon.

Jacinto had stopped at the Safeway in Bisbee. In June he rode an extra four miles to buy us a sorry dried out chicken dinner. As hungry as I was, I could hardly choke down a piece. Can you believe that Jacinto bought chicken again at the same place? What was he thinking? Jacinto said it isn't the same chicken, it's different chicken. I said we weren't planning to eat in the room, there's a Texas Roadhouse right across the street. I was thinking juicy steak for dinner, not dried out chicken.

Hank was certainly ready for dinner - his bagels and peanut butter were long gone and we hadn't seen anywhere to buy a chocolate milk.

As soon as Jacinto showered, we walked across the street. We are getting old. The AC was too cold and the music too loud. We were happy with the plexiglass partitions between all of the booths. All employees had masks. Customers wore masks. They didn't serve peanuts, to jacinto's dismay.

We all ordered the $9.99 special before 5:30 PM. Mine was excellent! I would eat there again tomorrow if it were a choice. Tomorrow is Thanksgiving and we are in Benson. Possibly we can eat Mexican food or Denny's is open . . . I wonder what turkey dinner at Denny's tastes like?

I'm pleased with my performance today and this trip in general. When we are riding around home, Jacinto is more ambitious, with long, climbing rides. I've slacked off and done easy cruises along the river. Going on tour forces me to challenge myself.

Jacinto and Hank would like to leave very late tomorrow. They are both counting on a southern tailwind. We have at least negotiated an 8 AM breakfast . . . Hank is quite a gentleman and thinks I need to ride with someone each day. I pointed out 99% of my riding is solo. I rode the entire summer from border to border, solo. But he seems uncomfortable about me riding alone. It's refreshing!

Tombstone is empty in the morning.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Is the leaf blower engine power or is someone on the way to work?
Heart 0 Comment 0
I said Hank had to use his new toy and he quickly corrected me to say the tripod is a professional tool!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Stay at these cabins if you are in Tombstone. They are a great value, and excellent location.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I hope the mound with a flower on top is not someone who put the sign to the test!
Heart 0 Comment 0
ADOT did not do any road weed work since we were here in June.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My only windmill photo this entire trip. I haven't seen an old barn yet.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The hills were very green. Bill - do you know what the bushes are?Bull replied that we were in the Madrean pine oak woodland. These are all drought resistant pine, oak, and junipers. Bill adds that these oak trees shed their leaves in the late winter/early spring.That's interesting, thank you Bill.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This must be the top of the pass, since there's a downhill sign. Bicycles are supposed to go left, over Old Divide Road. I totally did not see that sign in June, I was too busy suffering. We all went through the tunnel this year.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto pulls up at the top of the pass. The road behind him doesn't look steep enough!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto went up Old Divide Road, this was the view from the top.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto said there weren't too many people in Bisbee.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bill? I saw only 3-4 of these flowering. I was happy I stopped and photoed one.Cane cholla with fruit.The tall skinny plant right behind is an ocotillo. It only sprouts leaves when it rains and drops them when it drys out. I have seen a very few with leaves, but only a brand or two on each plant. I don't know how that works. It would be interesting to see an entire plant with a bonnet of new leaves.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bisbee copper mine.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I was really happy with our spacious room until I almost stepped on this guy. Barefoot. Hank inspected my room with a flashlight and we decided it was ok. We checked the bed for bedbugs also. This is our cheapest room of the trip and we get a hot breakfast tomorrow. I sure wish my room didn't have a bug to lessen my pleasure.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 214 miles (344 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0