Benson - Sonoita, AZ - Tucson Area Thanksgiving Tour 2020 - CycleBlaze

November 27, 2020

Benson - Sonoita, AZ

Heart 0 Comment 0

2,420 elevation gain

We are getting smart. Our refrigerator was making a horrible click, click noise. There was no way I was going to sleep with that. Jacinto downloaded a noise app on his phone and set it to fan - just loud enough to cover the clicking. The bed was comfy and the pillows appropriately squishy. I slept well.

Hank and I agreed on a 9 AM depart. I think he would have preferred to leave later because of the cold, but I was afraid of the headwind. It was 49 when we departed. I had on my ear warmers in concession to the cold. I've been wearing tights the entire trip. Jacinto said he's riding in Arizona, he's not wearing tights! He froze all day with shorts and one shirt. Hank had on shorts, with three layers on top.

Hank and I hardly got down the road when we were stopped by a train. We got started again and could see a steep hill in front of us. I looked left and right. I didn't see any way around it. We were going to go up and over. What a welcome to our day. I knew it was mostly a climbing day, we might as well get started. Hank stopped at the bottom and asked why we were going this way. I told him the other choice was riding on the interstate, but the roads come together in a few miles. Today was a climbing day all day. That's just the way it is. Off we went.

It was a 200 foot climb with a total of 800 feet of climbing before the road leveled off. We came to Highway 90. It was four wide lanes with a huge, smooth shoulder with hardly any junk on it. There wasn't too much traffic. Who would think I would enjoy riding on a four lane highway, but this was nice. We had a side wind, but there was enough greenery to block most of it. I saw two javalinas! I know they are common in Arizona and a nuisance, but I had never seen one before. I gestured wildly, but they were long gone by the time Hank got there.

We stopped quickly a couple of times, but were moving down the road fairly well, considering the wind and the upward slant of the road. At mile 21.5 we arrived at Whetstone. We revisited the convenience store. I walked in with my mask on and felt out of place wearing one. This was my first turn in a C store this trip. The variety of junk food was overwhelming. I looked for an apple or a banana, but didn't find any. I settled for a 100% beef stick, V-8, and a protein bar. The total was $9.00 - almost enough for a real meal in a real restaurant - if only there were one.

Whetstone had RV parks on each corner and a couple on the road. Hank says they are parking lots RV Parks, with no activities. He lives in an RV year round and is a connoisseur of RV parks.

We had been reasonably warm while riding, but cooled off quickly stopped at the store. We didn't waste much time before taking the turn onto Highway 82, right into the wind. We lost our nice shoulder and suddenly there seemed to be much more traffic. We would have to grind out this piece of the day. We were on 82 for as little as possible. We planned to turn onto Upper Elgin Road and take the back roads past the wineries, unless the winds were too horrible. Then we would take the back roads.

Jacinto called me and asked if we were going into town, he would like a Ginger Ale. That is odd. Ginger Ale? I asked if he felt sick - no, that's just what was motivating him to get down the road. Whatever worked today. It was turning into a tough day. Climbing in the cold wind wasn't much fun. There was little downhill today and what downhill there was felt extra cold.

I took Anti Fatigue capsules several times throughout the day and ate my last three Perpetuum tablets. I wasn't drinking many fluids because of the cold. If the wind wasn't blowing so much, it wouldn't have been so chilly.

Just as we came on the turn for Upper Elgin Road, Jacinto caught up with us. I think he really wanted that soda, but I shamed him into going the longer distance. We hadn't gone a quarter mile down the road when I was asking Hank if this wasn't MUCH nicer than the highway. He had to admit it certainly was. We would be riding past a number of wineries. This area is a popular tourist attraction and has enough back roads to be inviting for a weekend tour. It did seem the closer we got to Sonoita, the more impatient and fast the drivers were.

We came to the town of Elgin. It was a busy intersection with several roads coming together at odd angles. Jacinto said Bertha (my name for Ridewith GPS) told him to go left. We went at least a half mile up a climb before Bertha started beeping at me. I stopped and yelled at Hank. He stopped. Jacinto was too far ahead. I had no service on my phone. Hopefully he would notice that we weren't behind him. Sure enough, here he came back, complaining that he couldn't trust Bertha.

We turned around and went the opposite direction. I was optimistic that we would be there soon. Silly me. The miles turned slower and slower. The wind seemed stronger and stronger. I ate my last Perpetuum tablet. Just as I ate it, Hank pulled alongside of me and said he would really like to eat before going to the motel.

Jacinto was already down the road. I had no phone service. Hank did. He called Jacinto, who said he was already at the motel. It was 1.1 miles back to the brewery. Oops. Our original plan was to shower and ride there, but it was getting late and we were hungry. the brewery was only a mile from the place I stopped. We rode on down the road. The parking lot was full. Hank hurried in to get us a table. Jacinto was soon there and we went in. I warned Jacinto I was starving and was going to order a lot of food. I started out with nachos for an appetizer. The had gluten free buns, so I ordered a sandwich. We all ordered drinks. The guys had a second round. then we were surprised when the bill arrived. Drinking is expensive!

None of us wanted to leave. Hank said it should be better outside, that the wind dies down at dusk. He was correct. It was also dusk. We made it to the motel just as the sun set. We were sharing their last room. Luckily it had two queen beds. I told Hank if he snored too loudly, he could move outside to the hammock. That could be a nice sleeping spot - but not at 29 degrees!

We had decided to extend the trip by a day and were late getting a reservation in Sonoita. The Sonoita Inn was conveniently located right at the intersection. But they were full. Instead we are out in the country at a horse hotel - although I didn't see any horses here. There were three cats, waiting for their dinner. Karen was our friendly hostess.

We've all had a shower. Jacinto is planning to ride the downhill day with us into Tucson. I have us routed to ride a portion of the Julian Wash Trail. We are on Valencia Blvd. for a mere .4 miles before getting off and going to the airport the back way. Hank's friend will pick him up at our motel. We will all clean up and then go for one last dinner together. Hank is keeping our van at the RV Park and we are flying home and then back again for Christmas. We will avoid the conundrum of driving through Navajo Nation during their stay at home order.

This has been a good tour - today was cold. The first day was my toughest, but I luckily got right into the groove. It's a shame we have to go home and go back to work. I told Jacinto when we came back in December, we could ride this tour again. Why not? We would be paying a motel room anyway - the motel could be located anywhere!

Our plan for the morning is to wait for it to warm up and ride into town to eat breakfast at the cafe. It's a mere 300 feet of climbing to the top of the pass and then we have a 3,400 foot downhill into Tucson! That's a much better end to our tour than riding on the interstate from Benson. I'm glad we decided to extend a day, even if we are sharing a room. Our other choice was to ride the 12 miles into Patagonia today and backtrack tomorrow. It would have been very difficult to ride another 12 miles today!

The towels at this Quality Inn had a pattern on the ends that made for invigorating toweling.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We had ridden a half a mile and got stopped by a train.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another half mile down the road and we had a 200 foot elevation gain to wake our legs up. That was tough.
Heart 0 Comment 0
At the top of the same hill. Spoon says I need to smile bigger, but I was just trying to breath!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I managed to get my camera out in time to photo this old beauty passing by.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hank demonstrates opening the door with his elbow.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I'm keeping my sodium consumption up today!
Heart 0 Comment 0
We had interesting mountain formations on Highway 82 between Whetstone and Sonoita.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Notice the golden colored mailbox in the background.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto caught up with us right at the turn to Upper Elgin Road.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto was debating taking the short route so he could stop at the convenience store for a soda. He ended up going the scenic back road route with us.
Heart 0 Comment 0
There were a few windmills today.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Building in the town of Elgin. It might not be here next year, considering how the wind blows in this area!
Heart 0 Comment 0
We stopped at the Copper Brothel Brewery. I was hoping they had some business because they are off of the main drag. I didn't have to feel sorry for them - they were hopping. I had a gin and tonic for Spoon.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hank's photo of us.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto's photo of my bike, a RANS Stratus XP, K frame in Sierra Vista.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This rock formation was more interesting going west. We also saw it heading east a few days ago.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 48 miles (77 km)
Total: 306 miles (492 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0