Day 6 - still near La Belle, MO - Tri-points on the Tri-speed - CycleBlaze

May 19, 2013

Day 6 - still near La Belle, MO

Posted via email Sun May 19 19:46:02 2013 PDT

Sleeping on the picnic table last night worked out OK, at first. The wind was rattling the bike, so I got up to stop that. Later in the night I was getting cold from the wind. Put on my rain gear. Since it doesn't breathe, I was getting damp. Not a very good night's sleep. It did rain some overnight, but the shelter did its job.

Got up before 5:00am, trying to decide what to do today. The radar image on the BlackBerry indicated rain here and there to the west and south. Winds still from the south. I'm tired. Maybe I'll use one of my spare days today.

I felt vulnerable to lightning under the shelter. The morning light revealed where the campsites were. Campsite #3 looked best for a tent. Got set up and checked the bike. The chain was loose again! I see now that it's due to the rear axle slipping in the tightening slot. I think I need a lock washer. Oiled the chain and checked the tires - found only one small wire bit.

Took a nap in the tent at 8:25am. At 10:05am there was heavy rain for 15 minutes. Stayed awake and worked on yesterday's report. After emailing the report, I took another nap - this time on the picnic table - from 1:25pm to when I started hearing thunder - at 3:25pm.

I was back in the tent when the rain - and hail - arrived at 4:20pm. The storm passed quickly and I carried my lunch bag to the picnic table for supper. There are small birds here that like to fly through the shelter as they eat bugs. They're fun to watch and to listen to.

Attended to emails after supper. Lots of emails earlier today from/to my wife, friend Kris, and sister Laurie, discussing weather, routes, and the schedule. One email from a friend mentioned his meeting a touring bicyclist, who was going from Houston to New York. The bicyclist, Michael Duncan Foster, hadn't yet met a fellow touring bicyclist, and wanted me to call him. I did that this evening, and had a nice talk. I envy his "no schedule" style. He's documenting his trip using YouTube. I told him there are other touring bicyclists out there, and to check out the Crazy Guy On A Bike website.

Worked on the report for today at the shelter until the BlackBerry indicated low-battery. Back to the tent for a recharge from the 12-volt extension cord I have from the bike. Thunder in the distance. Time for a good night's sleep (I hope).

Jeff

------------

Spent: $0.

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

+ sunrise at La Belle Lake Conservation Area - Lewis County, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ camping area at La Belle Lake Conservation Area - Lewis County, MO +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ my bird friends +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking west from the dam for La Belle Lake - Lewis County, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0