Day 5 - ending near La Belle, MO - Tri-points on the Tri-speed - CycleBlaze

May 18, 2013

Day 5 - ending near La Belle, MO

Posted via email Sun May 19 11:19:01 2013 PDT

Woke up five minutes before the alarm was to go off (6:00am), wondering where I was. Got a cup of coffee and walked through the park across the street to look at the Des Moines River. Worked on report after that sitting on the front porch of the inn. Took a break at 8:00am for the breakfast made for me. Very good! Back to the porch to complete/send report. It was fun watching the local traffic go by, which included Amish buggies.

Left at 10:57am, after checking out. Heading toward Missouri now. Arrived at the border at 12:20pm. The wind was strong from the south - the direction I was going. This made my progress very slow. At 1:42pm I took a short nap under an Eastern Red Cedar tree (I think) at a house for sale.

Arrived in Kahoka at 3:35pm, and Steve's Family Dining at 3:57pm. Ordered a lemonade and the buffet. Very good. The young waitress kept my lemonade glass full, and later filled my water jug. Left at 5:20pm for the square across the street, to make a final decision on my destination. I'd still be a little behind on my schedule, but decided to try for La Belle Lake Conservation Area, just south of La Belle.

Six more miles south into the wind on MO-81, then I could turn west on SR-D. From there back south on SR-M, west on SR-E, and south on SR-K. Passed through Williamstown at 8:47pm, and was at SR-K by 10:00pm. Near 11:00pm, teenagers standing by a bonfire at a place along the road called me over. They had so many questions, mostly about the bike and what I was carrying for supplies. I found out young teenage girls think sardines are "gross". One guy volunteered how many hills I had left - not exactly what I wanted to hear.

Arrived in La Belle at 11:25pm. As I was making final checks on the GPS, a fellow in his car pulled up to talk. More information on hills! Finally arrived at La Belle Lake at 12:02am. Found the shelter. The picnic table here will do for sleeping on, I think. I'll just need to get my new-for-this-trip Therm-a-Rest pillow out of the clothes bag. Then I can get an early start in the morning.

Jeff

------------

Spent: $13.92 plus $3 tip (lunch) = $16.92.

Day 5 - Bonaparte, IA to La Belle, MO
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 1 Comment 0
+ historical site along the Des Moines River - Bonaparte, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Van Buren County map - Bonaparte, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ inside The Bonaparte Inn - Bonaparte, IA +
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ inside The Bonaparte Inn - Bonaparte, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ corner of First and West - Bonaparte, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ a pleasant morning for sitting on the porch +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ dining room at The Bonaparte Inn - Bonaparte, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ a buffet just for me! +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ 1st Street - Bonaparte, IA +
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ Des Moines River bridge - Bonaparte, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking back - Bonaparte, IA +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ downhill on MO-81 - Clark County, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ grain storage? - Clark County, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ BNSF mainline - Clark County, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ city limit - Kahoka, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Wyaconda River - Clark County, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ expecting high water along SR-D - Clark County, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 57 miles (92 km)
Total: 222 miles (357 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0