Day 43 - still at Harrison, NE - Tri-points on the Tri-speed - CycleBlaze

June 25, 2013

Day 43 - still at Harrison, NE

Posted via email Wed Jun 26 04:25:01 2013 PDT

Woke up at 7:00am, ready to enjoy this day off (and get a few things done). There were clouds early, then sunshine on this beautiful morning. Worked on yesterday's report for a while. Took off on the empty bike at 9:58am to get some breakfast, and hoping to find some coffee. Heard a spoke break before I was half a block away from the tent. Went to Rea's (grocery store). It's different - you can see over all the shelves. Walked up and down the aisles keeping an eye out for lunch bag items (that I'd get later), while I decided on what I wanted for breakfast. As I checked out I asked where in town I might get a cup of coffee. The clerk said, "Over there by the window. Put some money in the kitty, if you want." So I poured myself a cup from the Mr. Coffee-style maker.

Worked some more on yesterday's report when I got back to the park. Wasn't sure I could actually drink a half-gallon of chocolate milk, but it was all gone before it got warm. Moths are thick around here. A couple dozen flew out of the restroom when I opened the door this morning. Later in the day, they were flying up my pants leg.

Between 12:40pm and 1:20pm, I took a nap on a picnic table under a shelter near the swimming pool. A gentleman was working around the park. He was replacing sprinkler heads that weren't working well, so some of the sprinklers were back on for testing. He said they won't be running tonight. I told him I was in the clear, either way.

At 2:30pm, I called my wife and talked for half an hour. Then on to bike maintenance. Remounted the PN-60 GPS bracket, replaced this morning's broken spoke, and looked at the Gammatronix voltage monitor. It quit working after the evening of the rain storm, though it looks like it just needs re-programming. I don't have the codes with me, so called my wife again to see if she could find the programming sheet, wherever I may have left it. She didn't find it, so I just made my best guess. I have a pretty good feel now anyway on the charge/discharge rates for the battery system, and can probably get by without the monitor for the rest of the trip. Anyway, if I need to, I could get out my voltmeter.

At 3:45pm, I headed uptown to buy items at Rea's for my food bag. Took some pictures as I went, and as I returned to the park. Found out I was too late for visiting the town's museum, which closed at 4:00pm.

I had the cherry pie, the lemonade, and half a row of cream-filled cookies as I packed the food bag. What else wouldn't fit in the bag I set aside for breakfast tomorrow. Next, I sorted through maps, getting ready for my trip to Tri-point #11 tomorrow.

At 7:10pm, I rode back uptown to Longhorn Saloon Bar and Grill for supper. They were out of ribeye, so I ordered a chili cheese burger with bacon and BBQ potato chips. They were busy cooking lots of carry-out orders. It was fun listening to all the ranch-farming talk I was hearing in the place. I finished supper and rode back to the park. It's a perfect summer evening tonight.

The sun was getting ready to set, so I rode over to US-20 to get a sunset picture. Had to go a ways west to get beyond Harrison's natural snow fence (rows of evergreen trees).

What a relaxing day I've had. I'm ready now for tomorrow.

Jeff

------------

Spent: $6 (breakfast food) + $1 (coffee kitty) + $26.14 (food, snacks) + $14 plus $3 (supper) + $10 (campsite donation) = $60.14.

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

+ looking across the street from a downtown park as I drank my coffee - Harrison, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ view through window at the Sioux County Historical Museum - Harrison, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Thanks a lot, Mr. Coffee! +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Herren Brothers True Value - Harrison, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ flower along US-20 +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0