Day 41 - ending at Morrill, NE - Tri-points on the Tri-speed - CycleBlaze

June 23, 2013

Day 41 - ending at Morrill, NE

Posted via email Mon Jun 24 08:45:02 2013 PDT

I was awake at 5:40am, after a cold night. Had to use the pair of thick socks (given to me before I left home), a set of hand warmers, and the space blanket. Nothing had dried out overnight, so I used that time to write yesterday's report. Also took a few pictures, including one of the ditch I initially took shelter in yesterday. Weak cell phone signal here, but got the report sent in by walking up the road to where it was higher. Had my last can of Beanee Weenees and a Clif Bar for breakfast. Packed and ready to leave at noon. Then I noticed the rear tire was low on pressure. Maybe I could get to my destination on low pressure. Anyway, this was no place to change the tube, with all this sand around. I took off, following the rest of yesterday's route.

Wind was light from the east. I went west a mile on CR-15, which then turned north to connect with NE-88. Turned left for a mile on NE-88 (at 1:03pm), then north on Stegall Road. The wind must have been pretty strong seven miles from me yesterday, to have blown over part of an irrigation set-up.

Stegall Road wasn't as great when I got to Scotts Bluff County (at 1:45pm). All the road seams were bumps. I took a break (eating a bag of peanuts) at a Wildlife Management Area access point at the top of a hill at 2:27pm. It was mostly downhill after that. Had to go a mile east on NE-92, when I got there at 3:32pm. That mile was slow-going, because of the now strong east wind. At 3:44pm I turned north toward Morrill. Crossed railroad mainlines and the North Platte River before arriving in town at 4:35pm.

Rode through town, arriving at the Oak Tree Inn at 4:45pm. Checked in (room 118), then walked over to Penny's Diner in front of the motel. Had their chicken-fried chicken special, Cherry Coke, and lemon meringue pie. After dinner, I walked next door to the Sinclair Kwik Stop for on-the-road snacks.

Back at the motel room, I unloaded the bike and checked the tires in the sunlight outside. Removed thorns and also a wire that may have been there for a while in the rear tire. That tire had only 25psi in it! I'm amazed I made it into town. Found the hole in the tube and patched it. Both tires are now at 68psi.

Went back to the Kwik Stop for a quart of chocolate milk. Thought about getting another when that one was gone. I made de-caf coffee instead with the room coffee maker. Took shower (finally!) and worked on report as long as I could.

Jeff

------------

Spent: $65.79 plus $5 (motel) + $14.89 plus $2.85 (supper) + $5.47 (snacks) + $2.50 (chocolate milk) = $96.50.

Day 41 - Harrisburg, NE to Morrill, NE
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

+ looking east at Gabe Rock from the "triangle" - Banner County, NE +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ entering Scotts Bluff County along Stegall Road +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ regulations for wildlife area along Stegall Road - Scotts Bluff County, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking south from wildlife area parking lot - Scotts Bluff County, NE +
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ looking west from wildlife area parking lot - Scotts Bluff County, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ hay field just south of CR-L - Scotts Bluff County, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ turning into the east wind on NE-92 - Stegall, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ downhill from here along South Morrill Road (CR-8) - Scotts Bluff County, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Mitchell and Gering Canal - Scotts Bluff County, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ sunset from Oak Tree Inn parking lot - Morrill, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 32 miles (51 km)
Total: 1,664 miles (2,678 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0