Day 4 - ending at Bonaparte, IA - Tri-points on the Tri-speed - CycleBlaze

May 17, 2013

Day 4 - ending at Bonaparte, IA

Posted via email Sat May 18 08:06:01 2013 PDT

Awake at 6:00am. Finished yesterday's report, reviewed, and proof-read. At 9:00am, it was looking pretty good, I thought. I'll just delete this one picture and add another. With one screen-push too many, it was gone. The whole report! #@?*-/:+!. I calmed down and decided I'd give myself two hours to rewrite what had taken me four+ hours. That worked, and my day was back on track, just off schedule.

Packed up and inspected the bike. Tightened the chain. Both tires were at 49psi. Added air to get them to 60psi. Had a little trouble with my pump. Ate an energy bar and left at 1:12pm.

Turning south today in hope of making it to Missouri. Plan to cross the Des Moines River at Farmington, IA, and then make it to Fox Valley Lake Conservation Area north of Kahoka, MO.

Great downhill ride to the Skunk River. Then I followed my waypoints west and south on gravel roads. Some of these roads had big "gravel", and they all had hills. Not my best routing. I needed a good meal. My late arrival at Uncle Gene's yesterday messed up our plans to go out to eat. If I could just make it to West Point . . . if I could just get beyond these gravel roads. Finally made it to IA-16, then off again for a "shortcut" on more gravel roads. Took a short nap in some shade I found at 3:50pm. It was a better ride after making it to CR-X23.

Made it to West Point, where I had a waypoint for Brad's Pad. Ordered a lemonade, salad, and a 12-inch #1 sub with all the extras. It was all very good, just too much. Got a carry-out container for half the sandwich. Talked to Brad while paying. He mentioned the bicycle-friendly flatness of CR-J40. That got me rethinking my route.

Left at 5:42pm, stopping at the town square for water. Decided to take CR-J40 west. What a difference from earlier in the afternoon. Now I was actually moving!

I stopped outside the cemetery next to the Sharon Presbyterian Church at7:35pm to eat the rest of my sub sandwich. Enjoyed watching the sunset and also decided to use the Poynt app on the BlackBerry to see about places to stay overnight closer than Fox Valley Lake. The Bonaparte Inn was the closest listing for motels. Gave them a call. They had a room. Turned my lights on at 8:23pm and headed that way.

Arrived in Bonaparte at 9:25pm. Even in the dark I could tell this was an interesting town - and an Amish area. Information from a passing pickup truck driver got me to the inn. A little more luxury here than I need, but it will do. Checked in (room #4) and bought a soda. This stay comes with breakfast, so I decided on 8:00am for that. Took shower and turned the lights off at 12:15am. I'll write the report in the morning, when I can think straight.

Jeff

------------

Spent: $16.70 plus $3 tip (supper) + $133.35 plus $5 tip (Bed & Breakfast) + $1 (soda) = $159.05.

Day 4 - Danville, IA to Bonaparte, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
+ finally, ready to go - Geode State Park, Danville, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Bridgeport Bridge over Skunk River - Des Moines County/Lee County, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ along 115th Street - Lee County, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ 5th Street - West Point, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Sharon Presbyterian Church - Lee County, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ another day about over - Lee County, IA +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ fancy! - The Bonaparte Inn - Bonaparte, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 34 miles (55 km)
Total: 165 miles (266 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0