Day 34 - ending at Wray, CO - Tri-points on the Tri-speed - CycleBlaze

June 16, 2013

Day 34 - ending at Wray, CO

Posted via email Mon Jun 17 07:14:02 2013 PDT

Birds signing woke me up at 4:29am (CDT). Completed report, packed up, ate Pop Tarts, and left at 7:14am.

I didn't follow my pre-planned GPS routing precisely, leaving town west on KS-27, instead of on secondary roads north of St. Francis. Started getting into the hills I had been told about after KS-27 turned north. Stopped at a roadside Historical Marker at 7:45am to eat some on-the-road snacks. Stopped again at 8:56am to eat some more.

Continued on KS-27 until I got to CR-U, where I turned west at 9:35am. I didn't have any paper maps for this area, so had to trust my waypoint routing to get me from here to Tri-point #13. It didn't take me long to notice after I turned, that the wind was from the southwest. However, the roads were flatter. Following the routing, from CR-U I turned north on CR-5, then west on CR-V, and north on CR-3. The west-going was work, the north-going fun. I had several miles to go north on CR-3, and was just about falling asleep. So I stopped for a break at 11:05am. A pick-up truck coming from the opposite direction slowed down and stopped, to make sure I didn't need anything. I said no, though I really needed a cup of coffee.

Shortly after, I was in a scenic area, where there were valleys and high spots for seeing far away. The road curved through and around all this, becoming CR-2 on the other side. Through a small farming valley after that. At 12:27pm CDT, I crossed the time zone line back into Mountain Time (11:27am MDT). At the same time, I entered a new state for me: Colorado (Yuma County).

Not too much farther to the tri-point. Arrived there at 11:48pm MDT. This tri-point does have an NGS marker - actually several (the others point to the main one). There's also an informational plaque. I walked south down the path to see an older marker - the Chaffee monument. Back at the bike, I ate the rest of my on-the-road snacks, then left at 12:40pm (MDT).

A few hills, then I was in flat territory, heading to Wray, Colorado. Afternoon storms were building once again to the west and northwest. Wasn't sure I'd get to town before they got to me. But I did, arriving at Rainbow Park on the west side of Wray at 2:51pm. Found a roadside shelter with picnic table that would work for me. I wanted something to eat, so rode to nearby Java & Cones for a root beer float and a big cookie to-go. I was back at my shelter at 3:18pm. There was one problem with this spot. All the grass in the park was green, and I spotted a few sprinkler heads hiding in the grass. No place to set up the tent. Add to this the impending rain, and that there was someone sleeping in the restroom, convinced me that a motel night was in order. Hurried off to beat the rain, arriving at the Butte Motel at 4:00pm. Got room #11.

Unpacked the bike and replaced one broken spoke. Tightened them all a little, as several have suggested. Removed a lot of thorns from the tires, once again. I really like these tires, but the tread is just about gone.

A little after 6:00pm the rain had ended, and I walked uptown looking for a place to eat. Found Subway open, so ate supper there. Stopped at the Dollar General Store on the way back for food supplies - and a package of chocolate-covered mini donuts, which I ate as soon as I was back in my room.

Took shower, then started working on report. Couldn't stay awake, so that job will have to wait until the morning.

Jeff

------------

Spent: $5.50 (root beer float, cookie) + $49.68 plus $5 (motel) + $7.02 (supper) + $5.03 (snacks, toothpaste) = $72.23.

Day 34 - St. Francis, KS to Wray, CO
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

+ packing up before dawn +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking back at St. Francis from KS-27 - Cheyenne County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ turning onto CR-U - Cheyenne County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ yucca - Cheyenne County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ farming in the Arikaree River Valley - Cheyenne County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ break just before entering Colorado +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ white flowers with yellow centers - Yuma County, CO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Chaffee's Stone (set in 1869) is 621.7 feet south of Tri-point #13 +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ NGS benchmark next to Chaffee's Stone +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking north at Main Street during my walk to find a place to eat - Wray, CO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 44 miles (71 km)
Total: 1,385 miles (2,229 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0