Day 30 - ending at Tribune, KS - Tri-points on the Tri-speed - CycleBlaze

June 12, 2013

Day 30 - ending at Tribune, KS

Posted via email Thu Jun 13 05:23:01 2013 PDT

Woke up to a pleasant, calm morning at 5:07am (MDT). I did hear/see the sprinklers across the road overnight. Worked on report and packed up (tent was dry). Got information on where to eat breakfast from an 85-year-old gentleman taking a walk in the park.

Left South Park at 8:30am and arrived at KC's Restaurant at 8:36am. Had a Dr Pepper, instead of coffee, with my breakfast. The waitress filled my Klean Kanteen with ice and water before I left (at 9:12am).

I was confused on how to get out of town and back on KS-27 going north, but eventually figured it out. It wasn't supposed to be as hot as yesterday, but today I'd have to work, since the wind was from the north.

Around 11:00am I stopped to eat the one item I'd saved from my second MRE meal: trail mix with "m&m's", though it was labeled "Nut Raisin Mix with Pan Coated Chocolate Disks".

At 11:35am I went up a side road a ways to enjoy the shade provided by two trees. Left there at 11:56am with 25 miles to go to Tribune. The wind changed direction at 12:20pm to from-the-east, so going got easier. Later it lessened and seemed variable. Crossed into Greeley County at 1:45pm.

I stopped at 2:45pm to eat another bag of trail mix. I was constantly stopping today to drink water. The ice in my Klean Kanteen outlasted the water in it, even though I was only taking sips. So I added some [hot] water for a second go-around.

Finally arrived in Tribune at 3:57pm. Went first to City Hall to check on camping at the park, which is located by the swimming pool on the north side of town. The City Hall clerk said that would be fine, but I needed to check-in with the Sheriff's Office around the corner. The clerk at the Sheriff's Office had me sign a bicyclist logbook, and I was all set. Went next to the swimming pool to ask that they keep the restroom/shower house unlocked overnight. Now for some shopping and supper. Went to Gooch's Foods for a few items and Gatorade Energy Chews (thought I'd try them). Also found an acceptable replacement gallon water jug filled with green tea. From there I went to Elliott's Gastropub, since I couldn't find the bicyclist-recommended 'Chatterbox'. Had a cheeseburger and lots of Dr Pepper. Left there for the Cenex Eagle Travel Stop for front-bag on-the-road snacks.

Arrived back at the park at 6:00pm. Set up the tent east of the gazebo, and checked the bike. No broken spokes today. I've been keeping track of them by writing on the rim the date (day) they broke and were replaced. I decided to tighten the chain a little, and in the process, found the bellcrank at the rear axle broken, since its lock screw wouldn't tighten down (stripped threads). I had a spare bellcrank, so changed that out. At the other end of the cable connected to the bellcrank is the shifter I'm using instead of the twist-shift one that the Belleville came with. First gear is #5, second gear is #3, and third gear is #1. So I'm always double-clicking. It took me a long time to get comfortable using first gear, but I now use it all the time.

The swimming pool shut down at 9:30pm, but there's still a baseball game going on across the street. The wind is picking up a little from the east. Feels good.

I'm going to get a shower, then to bed.

Jeff

------------

Spent: $7.73 plus $2 (breakfast) + $13.27 (snacks, food, "water jug" filled with tea, tweezers) + $10.19 plus $2 (supper) + $6.08 (snacks) = $41.27.

Day 30 - Syracuse, KS to Tribune, KS
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

+ greener (and wetter) grass across the road at South Park - Syracuse, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ shelter at South Park - Syracuse, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ moo . . . +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ rest in the shade at Nine Mile Road North - Hamilton County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking east from KS-27 at Fifteen Mile Road North - Hamilton County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 2
Steve H71Being from WI, that has to be some of the flattest and wide open land I have seen.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Steve H71Steve,
Flatter than even Illinois!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ artwork "Westward Ho!" at Greeley County Courthouse - Tribune, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 38 miles (61 km)
Total: 1,237 miles (1,991 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0