Day 22 - ending near Anthony, KS - Tri-points on the Tri-speed - CycleBlaze

June 4, 2013

Day 22 - ending near Anthony, KS

Posted via email Wed Jun 5 05:54:02 2013 PDT

The worst of the weather went south last night, but there was plenty here to keep me awake. First, at 12:30am, strong winds from the south had me holding up the tent from time to time. There was a break at 3:00am. Went out and double-staked the two upwind corners of the tent. Then at 3:20am, the wind was back with rain. More holding up the tent. Took on a little water, but not too bad. This tent still amazes me. Finally fell asleep until 6:30am.

Clouds were still around, and the radar indicated we might get some more storms. It was calm for the moment, and a little muggy. Rolled up the wet tent (drying it as much as I could), packed the bike, and left at 8:36am, back on US-166 going west.

Arrived in South Haven - at Kay's Corner Cafe - at 9:02am. Had a western omelet, and later a cinnamon roll. Instead of older men sitting around drinking coffee and talking, it was women here. The waitress told me a large group of bicyclists came through South Haven once, and her high school class raised money for their senior trip by feeding them.

Left town at 9:54am, after checking the radar. Looked clear now. This time I was on US-81. Going was good again today, with the wind from the south.

Arrived in Caldwell at 11:10am. Stopped at the 1-Stop for a lemonade and cherry pie. Left there, but a little later, went inside Moore's Venture Foods to buy a replacement for my leaking water jug. There's a certain style of gallon container I like, and I found one with a gallon of "Diet Iced Tea with Peach Flavor" in it. It was the last one they had. That's what I worked on drinking in the afternoon.

The noon whistle was sounding as I left town, heading north on KS-49. It was a quick ride with the tailwind. Arrived at the junction with KS-44 at 1:04pm. Twenty-four miles to Anthony on that highway - that's where I was going.

At 2:15pm I passed an old neglected building at the intersection with Blackstone Road, and decided to check it out. It had been a school - "District 193". I found it interesting that the heater and a piano had been left when the building was abandoned.

Reached Anthony at 4:04pm. I'd chosen Anthony City Lake as the place I wanted to stay from the list Kris had provided. The lake was north out-of-town, so I looked for places to pick up some carry-out food for supper. Saw a McDonald's and decided that'd work. Once I was in there though, a strawberry milk shake sounded good, and I couldn't carry that, so I ordered an "eat here" meal. Had a 'Deluxe' and two apple pies with my shake.

Arrived at the lake at 5:00pm. Took some time deciding where to set up. The map said, "Tent Camping All Over Except Hook-ups in A/B/C". However, signs on pavilions stated no camping within 100 feet. Decided close to the shower house/restrooms would work.

Next got busy changing out three broken spokes.

Walked over to see the lake. I was very surprised to see it has no water! Maybe that's why no one else is here.

It might storm again tonight. I hope not. I need some sleep.

Jeff

------------

Spent: $10.62 plus $2 (breakfast) + $2.56 (snacks) + $3.87 ("water jug" filled with tea) + $8.56 (supper) + $5 (campsite) = $32.61.

Day 22 - South Haven, KS to Anthony, KS
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
+ last of the storms (I hope) heading southeast +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ cinnamon roll at Kay's Corner Cafe - South Haven, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking northeast at city park from corner of Wichita and Camp Streets - South Haven, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ US-81 - Sumner County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ east end of town - Caldwell, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ across the Chikaskia River and 24 miles . . . +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ window view of District 193 schoolhouse - Sumner County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ supper includes strawberry milkshake - Anthony, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ one of the pavilions at Anthony City Lake - Harper County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ close to the shower house/restroom +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking toward Anthony City Lake dam and spillway (from the bottom of the lake) - Harper County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 51 miles (82 km)
Total: 856 miles (1,378 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0