Day 21 - ending near South Haven, KS - Tri-points on the Tri-speed - CycleBlaze

June 3, 2013

Day 21 - ending near South Haven, KS

Posted via email Mon Jun 3 20:48:02 2013 PDT

Didn't set the alarm last night. Woke up on my own at 6:05am. No need to be in a hurry, since I suspected the bike shop wouldn't be open until 10:00am.

Left Walnut Park at 8:56am. Went west on Madison Avenue until I came to Summit Street, then north toward downtown. First I wanted to find the bike shop, to see when they'd be open, then I'd get some breakfast. Missed the shop and had to backtrack. There was a sign on the door saying they were closed on Mondays, and open on Tuesdays at noon! Well, I guess I have time for breakfast now!

I needed to think. Breakfast first. I went back south to Brick's Restaurant, arriving at 9:30am. Ordered coffee, a large orange juice, and the 'Summer Special': two pancakes with strawberries and whipped cream, two eggs, and two bacon. I didn't get a picture of that since the BlackBerry needed re-booting just then. It was good. I was still hungry though (I've been craving sweets lately), so ordered a cinnamon roll for dessert.

My thinking on the bike spokes problem was going two ways - stay in "Ark City" another day, or have George and Kris bring my 'Open Road' (Huffy) to me (or to Laurie, who would bring it the rest of the way). Either way, I was losing this beautiful riding day. All I really needed was a handful of spokes. As I came into town this morning, I'd passed a place like you see on the show "American Pickers", and remembered seeing a pile of bicycles there - I'd even waved to the older gentleman outside among the stuff as I rode by. Maybe I could buy a whole used bike just for the spokes!

When I got to the "Paw Shop" at 10:27am, the fellow was still outside. I explained my idea and he said, "You're in luck. I don't cheat people on Mondays." I got out my last spare spoke and checked it first against wheels that weren't with a bike. Too short. Then he pulled out a "racing bike" (actually a road bike). Its spokes looked close to matching. He let me remove one to make sure. Looked close enough to me, so I bought the bike for $25. He offered use of his tools, but I had what I needed. Fortunately, the front and rear wheel spokes were the same length, since I could only get eleven off the rear. Got all thirty-six off the front. These are steel, not stainless steel, so I believe they're stronger. Another plus (in my eyes) is that I'd bought a "Made-in-USA" Huffy (a "512 ST" model, date code 3/87). I'd wanted to get a photograph of "Mr. Paw" (Mr. Sheldon), but he left before I got the chance. The fellow now here watching the store gave me three refrigerated bottles of water before I left (at 11:57am).

I actually didn't get very far, stopping at a Casey's for on-the-road snacks and a chocolate milk. While drinking the chocolate milk, I noticed I already had another broken spoke! Finally left Arkansas City at 12:19pm, going west on US-166. Another great day for going west, since the wind was from the south. I'd figured for a short riding day, because of my planned visit to the bike shop.

Started seeing more wheat fields today - waving wheat, which is fun to watch. Also oil drilling equipment, but I'd been seeing that for days now.

There were a few guys at the back of a truck across the highway at one place. As I rode by they offered me water, pointing to the big orange jug mounted on the back of their truck. I was all set, however, thanks to the guy at the Paw Shop.

Rode over I-35 at 2:30pm, and arrived at Oasis RV Park at 2:37pm. The owner Chet was out mowing when I arrived, but quickly came to the office. He carefully figured out the best spot for a tent (site #46), and mowed it for me before I set up.

Changed out the one broken spoke, then took a shower (very clean shower house). Ate supper at 5:45pm (animal crackers and the peanut bar that was supposed to be "for the road"). Went and sat on the rocker at the north side of the office building for a while just to get out of the wind. It's died down now. Need to check with Kris about tomorrow's weather and destination. I had heard on the weather radio this morning that storms are expected.

Chet just stopped by with details about a storm west of here heading south. I also got to hear about some mean storms that have hit (hail) or just missed (tornadoes) this spot.

9:40pm update - now there's a storm spotter parked on the highway next to the campground!

10:05pm update - storm spotter left and it does look like the storm is going to the south.

Jeff

------------

Spent: $11.92 plus $2 (breakfast) + $25 (used bicycle) + $5.90 (snacks, chocolate milk) + $20 (campsite) = $64.82.

Day 21 - Arkansas, KS to South Haven, KS
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

+ Walnut Park camping information - Arkansas City, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ ready to leave Walnut Park - Arkansas City, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ the "Summer Special" after letting it sit a while +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Brick's Restaurant - Arkansas City, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ my newly-purchased "racing bike" +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ cold water provided by generous Paw Shop employees - Arkansas City, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ along US-166 - Sumner County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ old GMC truck at Oasis RV Park - South Haven, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ sunset looking northwest past S. Seneca Road from Oasis RV Park - South Haven, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 19 miles (31 km)
Total: 805 miles (1,296 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0