Day 20 - ending at Arkansas City, KS - Tri-points on the Tri-speed - CycleBlaze

June 2, 2013

Day 20 - ending at Arkansas City, KS

Posted via email Mon Jun 3 04:59:01 2013 PDT

Woke up one minute before the alarm was set to go off - at 5:00am. It was a little cold last night, but tolerable. Packed the stuff inside the tent. Decided it'd work if I put the gear in the shower house (which locks) and get breakfast while I waited for the sun to come up and dry out the tent.  

Walked a half-block north to the Ranch Restaurant, arriving at 6:22am. Had the breakfast buffet and coffee. Done eating at 6:57am. The sun was up over the trees when I got back. Loaded and ready to leave at 8:33am.

My goal was to get as close to Arkansas City as I could. There's a bike shop there and it looks like I'll need more spokes.

The road west and south from Sedan (US-166 BUS) has a good-sized hill. Reconnected with US-166 at 9:27am. Going was much better today, since the wind was from the north, instead of the west. It became overcast during the morning, which kept it cool. At 11:10am I stopped to eat all I had to eat in the front basket bag (two crunch bars). The sun was starting to come out when I got to the intersection with KS-15 at 1:30pm.

I passed by Cowley State Fishing Lake when I got to it, hoping to camp nearer the bike shop. What I could see of it from the road looked nice. I'd decided on Lou Ann's Campgrounds on 292nd Road. The shoulder on US-166 widened just when I got to 292nd Road, so I decided to stay on US-166 until I had to turn south (at Country Club Road). A little ways down that road a golf ball fell into the ditch eight feet in front of me. Made me glad I had a helmet on.

I got to the area the BlackBerry's Poynt app indicated the campground was. Couldn't see it, so called. They're not set up for tent camping and recommended Walnut Park - a city park - instead. Bicycling west got me right to the park, at 4:48pm. Called the police station (following instructions on sign) and got permission to camp for the night. There are others here in trailers. No showers, though.

Ate supper at 6:10pm and checked the bike afterwards. Only one broken spoke today. I have one spare spoke left. I hope the bike shop isn't closed on Mondays.

Jeff

------------

Spent: $7.63 plus $2 (breakfast) = $9.63.

Day 20 - Sedan, KS to Arkansas City, KS
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

+ Sunday breakfast buffet at the Ranch Restaurant - Sedan, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Ranch Restaurant - Sedan, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ restroom/shower house building for Triple-Creek RV Park - Sedan, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ more flint? - US-166, Chautauqua County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking across the highway at Cowley State Fishing Lake - Cowley County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ focus +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 50 miles (80 km)
Total: 786 miles (1,265 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0