Day 2 - ending near Gladstone, IL - Tri-points on the Tri-speed - CycleBlaze

May 15, 2013

Day 2 - ending near Gladstone, IL

Posted via email Thu May 16 08:21:02 2013 PDT

Awake at 4:45am this morning. Finished packing and got tent down. Checked tires for debris and tightened chain. Packed bike and left at 6:35am, heading for the city park. Proof-read "Day 1" email report and ate snacks. Left park at 8:06am, heading northwest to Abingdon, where I planned to eat.

It was slow-going, partly thanks to the west wind, and I was tired. East of Abingdon, I was hearing thunder to the north. Arrived in town at 11:12am. Took some pictures downtown, then headed to a place to eat (Quinn's Corner). Ordered a hamburger, chips, lemonade, and later, a large vanilla shake. Got my water jug refilled and headed west to Legion Park.

So far, it had taken me 3 hours to go 10 miles. How was I ever going to make it to my destination (Henderson County Conservation Area near Gladstone)? Maybe a nap would help. So I took one - lasting an hour - on a picnic table at the shelter. Later, I studied the map some, and finally decided to get back with it, leaving at 1:45pm.

I made it to Berwick's round-about park a little before 3:00pm. I left my planned route here, heading north, thinking going through Kirkwood and Biggsville might be the way to go. It was still slow going into the now mostly-north wind. I kept rethinking my route decision as I went. I finally turned back south near my last chance to take a more straight-west route (130th Avenue/1300N). This route was working out well, and I was making better time, thanks to the wind lessening around 4:30pm. Continually passed farmers out planting today.

On IL-94 for a quarter of a mile, and then west again to a downhill into the river valley. The bike got up to 32 mph going down that hill! After enjoying the ride along the bottomland fields, I arrived at Gladstone Lake at 8:00pm. Selected campsite #24 and had the tent up by 8:30pm. Some clouds and lightning in the distance. May be getting some rain overnight.

Jeff

------------

Spent: $7.80 (lunch).

Day 2 - London Mills, IL to Gladstone, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

+ backyard camping - London Mills, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ United States Post Office - London Mills, IL 61544 +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Spoon River - London Mill, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking northeast from intersection of Main and Meek Streets - Abingdon, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Quinn's Corner - Abingdon, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ park dedication - Berwick, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ fire station - Berwick, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ banged-up 1959 De Soto along CR-1300N - Henderson County, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ no fishing (for now) at Gladstone Lake - Henderson County, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ clear evening at Henderson County Conservation Area - Henderson County, IL +
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 50 miles (80 km)
Total: 101 miles (163 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0