Day 15 - ending at Sarcoxie, MO - Tri-points on the Tri-speed - CycleBlaze

May 28, 2013

Day 15 - ending at Sarcoxie, MO

Posted via email Wed May 29 07:16:01 2013 PDT

Set the alarm last night for 5:30am, but woke up at 5:00am. Bill provided fresh coffee while I finished loading the bike.

Left at 6:33am with sprinkles falling. I was excited about getting such an early start. Followed my GPS waypoints today, and that worked out well. Worked my way west and south through Springfield, ending up on US-60 going southwest. Came to a Kum & Go at 8:45am, where I had donuts and orange juice. Radar on BlackBerry showed rain to the southwest, so, out of the wind at the north side of the building, I put plastic over the rear cargo. That took a while - didn't get back on the road until 9:38am.

At 10:40am, I left US-60 for Rose Hill Road. It was raining pretty good to the north. Not too much later, it started raining on me. Stopped and put on my rain gear. It rained just enough that I could have almost got by without it . . . almost. Took the rain gear off at 11:25am, at West Rose Hill Cemetery.

Started getting into hills, which slowed my progress. A turn north about five miles east of Mount Vernon, and the land became as flat as Illinois! At 2:00pm, I was in Mount Vernon, and stopped at the True Value Hardware Store. The bike chain was loose again, and I thought a lock washer would help. Asked there about a good place to eat, and was told the Red Barn Cafe and Hen House Bakery up the road was good. It was!

Left at 3:02pm. Eventually got back into hills. Stopped at 5:20pm, since the rear wheel was so far off now, its sidewall was rubbing the fender support. The weight of the bike dropped the wheel back into place, once I loosened the axle nut. Added my new lock washer and was good to go.

Arrived at Beagle Bay RV Haven & Campground at 6:15pm. The owner walked me by several sites I could choose from. I took #30. Bought two cold drinks at the campground office, got set up, and took shower.

I like the earlier ending that comes with the earlier start. May try that again tomorrow.

Jeff

------------

Spent: $4.06 (breakfast) + $0.83 (lock washers) + $11.31 plus $2 (lunch) + $12 (campsite) + $2.75 (drinks) = $32.95.

Day 15 - Springfield, MO to Sarcoxie, MO
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

+ ready to go - Springfield, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ BNSF crossing at Haseltine Road - Springfield, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ raining north of Rose Hill Road - Christian County, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Red Barn Cafe and Hen House Bakery - Mount Vernon, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ seen along Farm Road 2130 - Lawrence County, MO +
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ Cave Spring Branch along Lawrence County Avenue - Jasper County, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 56 miles (90 km)
Total: 590 miles (950 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0