Day 14 - still at Springfield, MO - Tri-points on the Tri-speed - CycleBlaze

May 27, 2013

Day 14 - still at Springfield, MO

Posted via email Tue May 28 03:41:02 2013 PDT

Up at 6:00am. Packed food purchased yesterday into my lunch bag. Going with animal cookies this round.

Called my wife and woke her up (she usually doesn't sleep late). Found out she'd been up past 3:00am helping our older son get home from a very muddy "Summer Camp" (music festival) in Chillicothe, Illinois.

Laurie had been planning to leave at 7:30am for a trip to see our folks in central Illinois, but delayed her departure to help me get my wheel to a bike shop, if one was open today. First, however, the three of us went to IHOP for breakfast. I am definitely "fueled up" and ready to bike.

At 10:00am, Laurie checked and found A&B Cycle open. We arrived at 10:30am. The shop could change out the broken spokes and true the wheel. I told them 'done by the end of the day' would be fine, since I wouldn't be leaving today. We went back home. Bill figured he'd have time to take me to pick up the wheel, so Laurie finished packing and left at 11:45am.

Bill went back to work (day-off home-office work), and I took a nap.

A little after 2:00pm, Bill woke me up with news that the wheel was ready. We took off. The shop had replaced five spokes. I bought six more for spares, and some rim tape. Bill found a Trek Belleville for sale on the showroom floor (second bike back in picture).

We were back home at 3:26pm, and I got to work rotating the tires and oiling the chain. Also took some pictures showing the bike wiring. The box with the LED's is the Gammatronix battery monitor, which is working very well. It lets me know when to add or remove loads to keep the battery from over-charging or over-discharging.

A little after 6:00pm, both Bill and I were done with our work, so we headed off for supper, deciding on Steak 'n Shake. Bill thinks the restrooms at this Steak 'n Shake are awesome big.

Back home after supper I determined the weight of what I'm leaving here (actually, Laurie hauled it back to Illinois for me today): three pounds!

Finished up today with shaving, a shower, and report writing. Looking forward to an early start tomorrow.

Many thanks to Bill and Laurie for their help and hospitality, and to A&B Cycle for getting me back on the road.

Jeff

------------

Spent: $47.97 (5 spokes replaced, 6 spare spokes, rim tape).

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
+ A&B Cycle - Springfield, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0