What in the world is he doing?: And for goodness sake why? - Toodling Treadler: SE Asia - Round Two - CycleBlaze

February 15, 2016

What in the world is he doing?: And for goodness sake why?

Note to readers: this was first published on the CG website in 2016 and now here in 2021.

_______________________

I travel, from time to time.

Every now and then I get the urge to immerse myself in new places/countries and experiences. It started when I was a kid, aged 16 and I had the urge to hitch-hike across the American western states. It was easier to do when I was younger, and it kind of grew from that point on. You got on a plane with your passport and some travellers cheques, landed somewhere "exotic" and wandered around. I did that for several years in my 20's, doing one lap of the planet and then some. Originally, I had intended to do it all by bike, but somehow ended up doing almost all of it by hitch-hiking, public transport and flying.

Travel is good for my soul. Mark Twain's oft quoted truism on travel can be found here on the Crazyguy site more than once, but here it is again:

"Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one’s lifetime."

I need it sorely. As I grow older I have a worrisome tendency to be a grumpy old bastard. I would rather fill my head with a wholesome charitable view of humanity. Travel is a good antidote and like castor oil should be taken regularly if one is to avoid the constipation of prejudice/bigotry. And the best travel is done by bicycle.

I ended up living in New Zealand & Australia. I may not have made many wise decisions in my life, but that was certainly one of the better ones. The other was marrying an Aussie (for you Americans out there, you pronounce that Auz-zee).

The Friendly Local took me to the airport again - 3 a.m. wakeup for the early flight to KL/Bangkok was above and beyond the call of duty. I'm sorry, but this one is mine; if Trump/Cruz/Rubio et al win the election, you're going to have to find your own before they'll let you move here.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I live in Perth, Western Australia; another very wise decision. It's so close to SE Asia, only a short and inexpensive flight to Bangkok, which is where this story begins.

These are all good antidotes against narrow mindedness, but occasionally you require a bit more... And after 20+ years in Perth, it's time to get out there and do a bit more serious travel - by bike.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Deleted AccountCertainly can't argue with your above comments re prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness. Totally agree that travel is a perfect antidote against such things.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Victa CalvoTo Deleted AccountAndrew, that's one of the things that drove me to leave the USA so many years ago and that I really appreciate about OZ and NZ -travel is part of our DNA.

Love reading your journals by the way...
Reply to this comment
2 years ago