Lift Off Tomorrow - Against The Wind - CycleBlaze

April 17, 2021

Lift Off Tomorrow

Better Late Than Never

The co-riders are keen and ready to roll. My bike is packed. The weather is perfect. I feel reasonably fit. The Against the Wind tour has been delayed a year, so tomorrow’s start will be especially good.

Yesterday was a bit exciting. I was invited to do a breakfast show interview on our local radio station ABC 666. Not only was I invited, my loaded bicycle was also invited into the studio. Because this tour is also a fundraising ride for a not-for-profit foundation, I was very pleased to be able give the ride some air-time. I was pleasantly surprised at how many people commented that they heard the interview.

Earlier in the week also marked a major life milestone. I departed my current workplace, The Australian Rural Leadership Foundation, after seven wonderful years of working there. They even invited the loaded touring bike to the farewell morning tea. It was a show and tell about long distance cycle touring. The touring bike has had a very social week with a media interview and a morning tea.

So I’m now officially unemployed (I’m calling it a Gap Year) and ready to cycle tour. 

Farewell from my wonderful workmates.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Awaiting entry to Radio Canberra ABC 666
Heart 3 Comment 0
Inside the broadcast studio of ABC Radio 666. The interview was arranged by a long term friend and broadcaster Lish Fejer.
Heart 2 Comment 0
More bike posing at the ABC studio. Note the morning temperature was 4°C.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Tyson slightly concerned that the bike is being packed.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Loaded and ready to roll. 41.5 kg of touring bike and gear. Includes some food and water. Probably more than enough gear for the 4000 km ride.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Bush Capital autumn sunset. Beautiful weather for cycle touring.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Ron ConardGood luck Graham. Have a fantastic journey!!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Graham SmithTo Ron ConardHi Ron,
It’s great to see you pop up here on CycleBlaze.
Thanks for the encouragement. As always I’m a tad anxious before a tour as ambitious as this. I’m sure it’ll work out OK but because it’s a fundraising ride, there’s been a few extra factors to consider and organise.
Are you back in Arizona? Or in Thailand?
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Ron ConardTo Graham SmithGraham I'm stuck here in the States for now. I'm anxious to get out into the world again. I'm hoping towards the end of the year but I'm not sure if that's realistic. Crazy times.

I look forward to vicariously living through you on your journey. Always a great read.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago