Introducing Joel Krewaz - Against The Wind - CycleBlaze

Introducing Joel Krewaz

The peloton is growing

The good news update is our ‘Against the Wind’ group is now a trio.  Joel Krewaz will join Ian and me on the Canberra to Perth ride. We have been to doing social rides with Joel for quite a few years. He’s great company and a very accomplished road rider. With his Canadian heritage, cycling across wide countries with seemingly endless open spaces aren’t daunting to Joel.

This is Joel. He is a very fit cyclist. He won’t be riding this bike to Perth, and he’ll be carrying a lot more load than a couple of drink bottles.
Heart 2 Comment 0

By way of introduction I asked Joel to write a few words about himself. 

“I am happily faced with a superb opportunity.  I have two cycling mates who are the best and most experienced endurance touring cyclists I know, who were willing to have me tag along on a singular grand adventure to the west.  I’ve had a desire to do a long unsupported bike tour for many years and this chance has been handed to me on a plate.  I’d also add that Graham and Ian are superb raconteurs, kind gentlemen and excellent company. 

My father was born in the Ukraine, but migrated to Canada as a young boy. My mother was born in Winnipeg;  her parents were British. I grew up in Canada and migrated to Australia, with the family when I was in my early teens.  I’m of a generation who jumped on bikes to get around and a 10 speed, drop handlebar bike was the only significant item I brought over from Canada.  I’ve ridden bicycles all my life, with a few gaps, and became a certified MAMIL when I turned 50.  I’ve done a few multi-day rides, and some week-long tours, I use a mountain bike to go fly fishing the Snowy Mountains and still use a bike daily to move around.  I have some experience, but, this will be a great test.

My parents rode bikes in their youth and always had an attitude of focusing on the trying and doing in all aspects of their lives.  Canada is a harsh environment too, in a cold way.  It seems a natural thing to do, to pick up a distance cycling opportunity and give it a go.  I do say there are few real challenges for active blokes of our vintage.  

We live in Canberra and are used to hot and dry.  Besides I’ve got seasoned cycling veterans to guide me.  Having Doreen, my very supportive wife, who has encouraged me in this challenge is a real joy.

Graham will be an enthusiastic guide for regional Australian communities and people. He has a long history with rural and regional Australia and his passion to support it is contagious.  As with any undertaking done with others, and which meets more people, it is those interactions which matter and are the true experience.  The bicycle is just a means.  Ian is an enthusiast of life, two wheeled travel and people.  He is capable of engaging with anyone we meet.  I’ll get a chance to follow in the wake of experts and discover, in detail, people and their places which I’ve only ever passed through, or have not been to before.  This is an immersive way of getting to experience these communities.

 What advice would I give any young person about the value of travel in their own country?  My only advice would be to try it.  I know that young people are adventurous and do look forward to understanding the world.  I can recommend travel in Australia to add to their joy and understanding.  If you ever have an opportunity to expand your horizon, grab it.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0