Day One on the Trace - Overnight Down the Trace - CycleBlaze

April 24, 2019

Day One on the Trace

After a year of dreaming and preparation, my bicycle touring dream became a reality!  In preparation for this day I did a fully supported ride across North Carolina, which helped me see some of the demands of riding day after day.  As great as that week was, it was only a step along my journey to travel self-supported by bicycle.  

While visiting my sister and parents in Franklin, TN the week following Easter, I decided this would be the perfect opportunity to do a little shakedown overnight ride down the Natchez Trace.  Wednesday, April 24, I loaded up my bike and headed out on what I hope is the first of many such trips.

Living in the flat lands in coastal North Carolina I knew I would face hills much more daunting that the few over-passes in my little home town.  During the 7-mile ride from my sister's house to the start of the Natchez Trace gave me a small introduction to these hills, but nothing like what awaited me.  But that 7-mile opening section gave me some good "real world" experience riding my loaded bike.  After a short bit it became just another bike ride...just gotta keep those pedals turning.

Not long after getting on the Natchez Trace Parkway I was introduced to one of the themes of the trip..."Oh, look, another hill!"  Right off the bat I found myself climbing a long hill.  But my bike, a Fuji Touring bike, handled it great!  (This was only the third time on the bike.)  While hills were a constant reality, the beauty and quietness of the Trace prevail.  As I made my way south I began looking for a place to pull over and eat lunch.  When I finally found a place with picnic tables, and some shade as an added bonus, I could not have found a more beautiful spot.  Sitting at that table next to a little creek fixing my peanut butter, jelly, banana, and honey tortilla "sandwiches" I couldn't help but think that THIS was why bicycle touring was so appealing to me!

Heart 2 Comment 0

After lunch I continued on down the Trace.  The earlier coolness of the morning had given way to the heat of the day.  As I neared my campsite I stopped by the water source closest to where I would be spending the night, only to discover that the water fountains were not working.  But thanks to the generosity of a couple from Belgium I was able to refill two of my water bottles until I was able to locate another source of water...which I did, and it was much closer to where I was camping.

After setting up my tent and unloading my bike, I continued down the Trace for a few more miles...and a few more lovely hills...to Jackson Falls.  This was one of the sites I really wanted to see, though at the time I was trying to talk myself out of riding the additional miles.  Thankfully I did not listen to my little inner voice on this one.  The falls were absolutely beautiful and provided an excellent exclamation point on a great day!

Heart 2 Comment 0

  The ride back to my campsite was pretty uneventful.  "Campsite" makes where I stayed sound bigger than it was.  I was staying in one of the free bicycle only campsites that the National Park Service provides along the Trace.  This one, at highway 50, is basically a couple of picnic tables, and a trash can, on the edge of the woods in a staging area for horse riders.  But while it was a very minimal camping area...the bathrooms were about 1/2 mile away (so be sure to plan ahead!) the solitude was great.  Except for the occasional car or truck passing by for the nearby farm, I had the place to myself.  Relaxing and cooking dinner while the sun began to drop below the tree line brought my maiden voyage as a bicycle traveler to a close.  Now for some much deeded/desired sleep!

Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 53 miles (85 km)
Total: 53 miles (85 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0