May 7, 1986 - York Exploring (on foot) - UK: Learning to Tour (Tour 1) - 1986 🇬🇧 - CycleBlaze

May 7, 1986

May 7, 1986 - York Exploring (on foot)

I GOT UP at 8 am and went down for breakfast. I'm glad I had no plans on the bike as it was pouring rain. I was a little disturbed that my bike was out in the rain for the first time.

The three of us ate and discussed our plans for the day. By 9:30 am we were on our way. I found out that my raincoat didn't exactly keep out the rain.

We walked down to the TIC to find out about the free tour then just looked through the office. There were a few sketches I was interested in buying but decided to wait until the end of the day so I wouldn't have to carry them around and ruin them.

By 10:15 am the tour started outside the York Museum. We saw the ancient walls dating from Roman to Viking to Medieval times. The Roman walls were well-preserved in some sections. Generally, though, the Medieval walls were right on top of the Roman ones. These walls, five km long, went all the way around the city. We walked along them for a ways then came down the main gate and to the Treasurer's House. We continued past the oldest building in York, dating from the 1300s and the church which was built from the proceeds. We went past the College building and through the Shambles which is one of the oldest (and cobble-stoned) streets in the city. There were a number of old shops but also many new ones which was quite odd. Tennis rackets available in Medieval shops.

The tour lasted til noon so we went to a bakery where I bought a cornish pasty and some scones (of course!). We went around the corner to the Treasurer's House which was free to me as it was a National Truat holding. It was a beautiful 17th Century house with incredible tapestries, furniture, and the building itself. I'm definitely getting ideas for my own house; Victorian, ceiling mouldings, wooden walls, good china, brass...

We went over to the Yorkshire Museum where there was a fabulous display of Roman findings in Eboracum (York). The displays continued right through the centuries. York had been a Roman stronghold. There were bits of clothing, coins, and numerous other household items. It was fascinating but we were exhausted when we got out. Before we left, I ran upstairs myself to glance at the china displays. More ideas.

We were so tired we just rested a while. Not wanting to waste time, we went to the Yorvik Viking Museum which showed a reconstructed Viking town and the actual site where the items were found. All in all, it was an expensive (L2.50), American-style waste of time.

We were more than exhausted so we rested again then headed to the Minster. On the way, I stopped in a shop where I bought two sketches of Old York with border matting for only 75 p each! I'd been into a china shop where I'd seen two Wedgewood plates which commemmorated the Queen's 60th birthday. I'd have bought them for Dad's birthday but I figured I'd best wait until I get to London as it might be cheaper and there will be less chance of breaking it.

We went right to York Minster where we were awestruck. Very clear that it is the biggest Medieval cathedral in England. At 5 pm was an Evensong where a guest choir was in town. The voices just resounded in the cathedral. I couldn't believe how beautiful the choir music was. There was a lot of wood with gold parts everywhere in the Minster.

At 6 pm we went over to a chip stand where I ate chips and a steak pie. It was good, but really salty so I asked for water which seemed to be abnormal.

We walked back to the B&B where I had a hot chocolate and we just watched tv. I went through all of the notes - past, present, future - to re-organize all of my stuff for the trip.

My foot is hopeless; tomorrow I'm going to lock the bike in the station then go by car up to Edinburgh. Then I'll return to York and hopefully return to bike in Cumbria, Wales, and the Cotswolds. I feel very disappointed but after yesterday, there's no way I can bike, plus, enjoy my tour. I'll give myself a rest and try later.

My final thoughts. We saw the news about Charles and Diana in Vancouver. Then we saw how Japan is preparing for them. There was a look-alike contest. Ridiculous. I can't believe it. That was the end of the day.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0