May 4, 1986 - Spalding to Lincoln - UK: Learning to Tour (Tour 1) - 1986 🇬🇧 - CycleBlaze

May 4, 1986

May 4, 1986 - Spalding to Lincoln

THIS MORNING I was up at 8:10 am and a few minutes later I was down for a huge breakfast - I eat more every day! There was another guest at the table so I sat and talked with him for a while. He's from the Isle of Anglesey in Wales and was in Spalding for the festival. He's been to the US but never to Canada. I described my route to him and he, too, agreed that I must see the Lake District. I told him I'd be through Wales and he said I'd be more than welcome to stay at his place if I were in the area. My route takes me within five to seven km of his town so I will definitely make a point of stopping. He's less than a day's ride from Conwy Castle.

I was talking with the host and hostess before I left who told me that they're going on an organized cycle tour of southern England in the last week of June. They've never done anything like it before so they will travel 30-50 km per day and a sag wagon will always be there.

When I left the home, I headed back downtown for photos of the gardens and restaurant (Elizabethan). There was a very strong wind - it felt like home on a cool and windy day. Fortunately,  the wind was with me or I know I'd never have been able to move. I mean strong winds.

Due to spending time talking and photographing, I was a little late in leaving, but with the strong winds I was in Sleaford at 30 km within an hour. Nothing here is open on Sundays so I just had a hamburger and chips, followed by two scones (yum!). Looking out the window of the restaurant was a 12th C cathedral - beautiful!

I got back on the bike and pedaled mostly to warm up - I also put the Walkman on for the first time. It was great - Madonna, but the Abba came on so there I was riding down the road in twelfth gear changing stations with cars whipping past at 110 km/h.

Along the way I took pictures of a few Elizabethan homes. It was at this point that I began to leave the Fens - thank God. I'd felt like a piece of sand on a big plate! The hills began to roll a bit but nothing to worry about. I was going so fast it was no time before I was through the rolling hills of sheep and lambs, and could see the cathedral in Lincoln. I knew nothing of the town so I headed right for it.

Coming into town was a long 10% grade - I went fast. Once across the very old, beautiful town, there was a very steep climb to the cathedral and castle. I almost made it all the way but after pushing so hard to get to town, there was no way so I walked the rest.

Lincoln Cathedral. Massive. Old. (900!) Beautiful. Magnificent. Massive. I went in right away. Huge vaulted ceilings in Gothic. Ancient tombs. Brilliant stained-glass windows. Massive. The library holds the Magna Carta but it was closed today.

I decided the bags were too heavy to carry so I found tourist information, then found a B&B at the base of the castle. I dropped off the bags then went up to tour the castle built by William the Conqueror. Up on a tower built in the 19th Century there was a beautiful view of the cathedral which was adjacent to the main gates.

After touring the castle I explored castle square between the two. The roads are like out of a book. Buildings were hanging over the narrow, cobbled streets which were almost vertical. I picked up the bike which I'd left at the cathedral and drove around the town looking at all of the old buildings. I went out to the country park which was absolutely beautiful but I was tired so I returned to the B&B for tea.

As I was looking through books on the Lake District, in came two other guests who happened to be from Australia, one of whom had been to school in Michigan and had done some traveling in southern Ontario and in the Banff, Alberta, area. We talked for a while then went to see the windmill, castle and cathedral lit up at night - amazing - and then back to the B&B.

I've decided to stay here tomorrow also as they've asked if I wish to travel with them to Belvoir ('Beaver') Castle and Doddington Castle. I could use the rest. Then I may be able to push all the way to York on Tuesday if I really try.

Weather - windy, sunny, approximately 14° C. No rain!

Today's ride: 64 km (40 miles)
Total: 249 km (155 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0