May 31, 1986 - Leigh-on-Sea - UK: Learning to Tour (Tour 1) - 1986 🇬🇧 - CycleBlaze

May 31, 1986

May 31, 1986 - Leigh-on-Sea

NOT MUCH DONE this rainy cold day.

I was up shortly before breakfast and we ate. I helped clean up then I had a nice hot bath and soaked til 11:30 am. I just lay in the hot water with the Walkman on and listened to the top ten countdown on Radio Essex. The music was just great - especially since I was listening to FM.

Finally, I pulled myself out of the bath and wrote up the journal entry for yesterday. I looked over the cookbooks and maps then went out to help Uncle Frank in transplanting seedlings in the green house. It was a bit cool but quite nice to be doing some gardening.

Once we'd finished, we came in for a light lunch then we sat in the lounge to watch football - Mexico '86. It seems Canada won't win the World Cup. In odds, we're last at 1,000 -to-1. Doesn't seem much chance.


I looked through a  number of cookbooks and got a few curry recipes and a few scone recipes. I had to translate a bit from ounces to cups but I'm all set for a few very good foods. I think once I'm home, I'll have to find an english cookbook as these are a lot of different foods that I really like and never heard of back home.

As we watched TV, we had cream scones which were the best things I've ever eaten. Homemade scones with strawberry jam, and a top of clotted cream.Wow! Then supper was prepared and we ate a curry which I heated up (for myself only) with cayenne. We had it over rice and it was amazing. I'm going to learn to do a lot of these foods. Yum. But hot, too.

Once we'd cleaned up after supper, we went into the lounge where I described the rest of my cycle trip then we watched Cagney and Lacey. I don't know if it's because I've been here so long or what, but did I ever hate it. Absolutely pathetic. And their accents were unusual.

It finally ended so we watched the news where I heard about a close call with bombs in a plane. The guilty were caught in Montreal. Right after the news we began to watch a movie - 'Day of the Jackal' - but it would have ended at midnight so we only watched it for a short while. It toom place in paris and everybody had english accents so it probably would have been very good. It seemed very good but my eyelids were heavy so I went to bed at 11 pm.

For a few minutes I listened to the radio. There was nothing good on FM so I had to listen to AM where I found a German station. On it, I heard Johnnie Sexton - a 17-year old from Toronto - 'I am not Impressed.' I was impressed to hear a Canadian. This is the second as I'd heard Bryan Adams when I was arriving in Windsor.

Shortly afterwards I was asleep.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0