May 24, 1986 - Windsor Exploring - UK: Learning to Tour (Tour 1) - 1986 🇬🇧 - CycleBlaze

May 24, 1986

May 24, 1986 - Windsor Exploring

I ACTUALLY SLEPT in this morning. Breakfast was to be at 8:30 am and I woke up fifteen minutes earlier. I lay in bed 'til I knew which was was up then I was on my way downstairs.

Today breakfast was quite good. It wasn't greasy and it had a good taste - there was a lot of toast and three kinds of jam, too! I ate 'til I was full then got ready and went downtown with Kate who was out to walk the dog. We went straight up to the castle where it continually got busier. Unfortunately, there were quite a few Americans. As I watched the changing of the guard, which was great, there was some (American) dolt who gave a 'knowledgeable' commentary to his wife. What a thrill. Regardless, it was quite a spectacle and I sat and watched 'til the old guard and the band marched away at precisely 11:30 am.

There were no banks open so I went to a Bureau de change as the people here don't want travelers' cheques and I don't know if they're required to take them. I went through the castle through the state apartments. I was correct - better than all else I've seen yet. There were swords, suits of armour, exquisite china and the state rooms were more splendid than anything I've ever seen before. All was gold-covered. Furniture from the Orient, UK and Europe. Rembrandts, Rubens and Van Dycks. Not a few, but rooms full. There were solid silver tables and mirror frames. Rich carpets. One of the Queen's thrones. Ballrooms, bedrooms and meeting rooms. Awed was not even a small bit of what I felt. I was King just walking through. It had to end and it was only then that I noticed how hungry I was. I went to a grocery store then ate at the base of Windsor Castle.

I'd seen the River Thames from within the Castle so I decided to head down to see it. I'd been in a million shops to find something for Shelley but found nothing. I'll keep trying.

Down at the river, I went to the locks and just watched the yachts cruise by as I rested on a park bench. I also perused a flyer for a system where a rail/subway/bus pass can be purchased. I'm going to look into getting it for a week from Leigh-on-Sea to London in all regions as I'll be going back and forth each day. And on the last day I'll be heading to Heathrow.

I found I was very tired and it was 3:30 pm so I headed back to the B&B. When I arrived, I watched PGA golf, cricket and horse jumping. Nothing great, but I was so tired that it didn't matter. I did become bored so I got Bike and worked on it for a while. I did paint touch-up, cleaning, rear wheel truing, admiring, chain cleaning and lubricating - generally making sure everything was in running order.

When I was at the train station, I'd asked for the price to Leigh-on-Sea which was only £6.40. I came inside after locking Bike away and I looked over the map. Since it is Bank Holiday Monday, I'm thinking that every road near London will be really busy. Plus, there probably isn't much to see on this route - all suburbs of the city. I may take the train to Uncle Frank's tomorrow - or at least part way then cycle the rest. I could rest for the long weekend then if Uncle Frank thinks there's much to see, I could cycle to Dover on Tuesday and return by the weekend for my week or so in the city. I think I could do with a day of absolutely no action. I just hope he'll be home - if not, I could always get a B&B toward Dover.

Jocelyne and I went downtown for supper at an Indian restaurant. I am going to buy an Indian cookbook - the more I eat it, the more I like it. I only had medium hot this time as I'd nearly died when we were in Edinburgh two weeks ago.

I truly understand why Jocelyne doesn't like it here. The family is as cheap as the B's [from back home, family name left out]. They all sleep in one room so as to rent the rest out. It's not because they need cash. This way they make more. As it is the combined salaries are quite high. First time to see two cars, maid, dishwasher, huge piano and in a ritzy area. Supposedly when they got married in February (her first husband left her) no friends were invited, they went for supper at a cheap restaurant, went to a movie that night ('Jewel of the Nile') and there was no honeymoon - all to save money. And I haven't heard enough times that the hostess and her daughter are leaving for Greece tomorrow. I think (ie know) that the fine hostess was a spoiled child. Fortunately (unfortunately??) the family really likes me so two days here haven't killed me!

When we got to the house, I gave Jocelyne the pins of Ontario and Canada, showed her Canadian money, then I was finished. I went straight to bed. I'm in a different room, though; the son's. They had to make room for the family of three from Denmark who I've not met yet.

I'm pretty sure I'll head to Uncle Frank's tomorrow. I'll probably take the train to the east boundary of London then cycle into Hadleigh. Then I have to find the house. I think I'll find the highway I took out four weeks ago and reverse the instructions I was given - if I have them. If I get lost. I'll ask around as I do have the address. Thankfully.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0